This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Next OSX "Mountain Lion" will drop 32bits

Discussion in 'Backline' started by pifos_2, Mar 19, 2012.

  1. pifos_2

    pifos_2 des scoubidoubidous wha !

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,293
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Netherlands
  2. Siguros

    Siguros Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Newport, UK
    This sucks...
     
  3. jangoux

    jangoux Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I will also be dropping Mountain Lion :p
     
  4. drew_drummer

    drew_drummer Dancefap

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    6,486
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    London, UK
    All it means is that it wont have a 32bit kernel option. You'll still be able to run 32bit applications.
     
  5. JeffTD

    JeffTD Senhor Testiculo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Based on my experience updating my laptop to Lion last week, I don't even give a shit. I'll be sticking with Snow Leopard on my recording machine for a while, it seems.
     
  6. DeclanWhite

    DeclanWhite Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Australia
    well computers are getting better and cheaper i guess... it was always going to happen. yeah my macbook came with lion. it's kinda annoying. i prefer snow leopard
     
  7. Loren Littlejohn

    Loren Littlejohn Lover of all boobage.

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    11,754
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Auburn NY- we grow em you listen
    This.

    I haven't moved to Lion yet either.
     
  8. Siguros

    Siguros Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Newport, UK
    Yes but they'll also be forcing 64 bit, so say you can run Logic 64 bit now but the 32 bit plugins have to go through that awful bridge that crashes all the time. It'll mean companies and programmers will have to release 64 bit plugins = bye bye OS X, more Windows freebies.

    "32-bit processes should technically be able to execute on a 64-bit architecture, at least in theory. If an app has dependencies on kexts and frameworks that are no longer available in 32-bit variants, however, it gets more complicated and an app can crash due to resource dependencies."

    Also this rules out all of the older Mac pro (1.1) users and some 2009 MacBooks. Tbh like the other guys here have said though, forget ML it looks shit... why would you want iPad/phone like features on your desktop.
     
  9. ArthurD

    ArthurD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,617
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Brasília - Brazil
    Snow Leopard rules over Lion.
    Now this.
    I'm gonna stick with the SL
     
  10. sprack

    sprack Thread Killer

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norrköping, Sweden
    Don't know why people are just now getting around to porting to 64-bit. They've only had 8yrs to see this coming.
     
  11. Damian B

    Damian B ¯\(°_o)/¯

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    NC, USA
    Plus fucking one.
     
  12. mva801

    mva801 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,875
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Meh. I'm not even on Lion yet. I have a feeling I'll be on PT9 and Snow leopard for AT LEAST another year.
     
  13. ballstix

    ballstix Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    in other news waves 9 is out with 64 bit support
     
  14. nervirasme

    nervirasme Dismember

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cologne, Germany
    Another vote for sticking with Snow Leopard - Lion has too many "upgrades" that I really dislike... I'm really afraid that in recent years Apple has slowly started to move in the wrong direction...
     
  15. Siguros

    Siguros Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Newport, UK
    Just curious, does anyone reading this have a hackintosh? Considering the first post was linked from tonymacx86 :p

    I'm running Lion on mine, what up.
     
  16. ballstix

    ballstix Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    I have one. Haven't had any issues with Lion other than having to beat around the bush to access certain folders.
     
  17. JeffTD

    JeffTD Senhor Testiculo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Like the user/library folder? Why the fuck was that even hidden in the first place?
     
  18. Brandon E.

    Brandon E. Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,000
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    NJ USA
    I wouldn't speculate yet on whether or not this rules out the possibility of running 32-bit processes. That seems insane to me. More likely the operating system will only run on 64-bit machines from now on, but again I wouldn't speculate just yet unless somebody can prove otherwise.
     
  19. 006

    006 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    8,955
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    My iMac is on 10.6.8, whichever stupid fucking animal name version that is, can't say I am interested in upgrading. Everything working smooth as fuck, no need to change anything - "if it ain't broke, don't fix it."
     
  20. Siguros

    Siguros Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Newport, UK
    Haha just press Apple, shift & G and type library. Or when you click Go at the top hold ALT and library will appear there also.
     

Share This Page