This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Nuendo - Cubase DIY Beat Detective

Discussion in 'F.O.H.' started by thiagodollor, Jun 14, 2007.

  1. thiagodollor

    thiagodollor New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This is my first post here, so please be patient with me and any grammar mistakes. Cheers from Brasil!
    First, I have never used Pro Tools, so I have no clue how it´s beat detective thing works. But, well, I believe that this title would draw the attention of those striving to use fix drums on Nuendo.
    This is an attempt to improve the technique posted on www.clubcubasenashville.com, which is great, but the "snap to event" thing is really boring and time consuming, so below you have my way to speed things up.
    The main purpose here was to fix drums, but I believe it can take care of other instruments that are "out of the line", since they have "good" transients.
    I remember that someone has posted something related to transient detection, comparing PT to Nuendo, don't remember who, but I hope that by tweaking this code he finds a solution.
    So, here it is:

    - Download Auto Hot Key: http://www.autohotkey.com/

    - Create a Notepad file and post the code below and save it with the ahk file extension (i.e. DIY beat detective.ahk)

    #ifwinactive ahk_class NuendoFrameWindowClass
    ^!q::
    msgbox, 4 ,, Begin?
    ifmsgbox yes
    goto begin
    ifmsgbox, no
    exit
    begin:
    sendraw, ,
    loop
    {
    send +n
    sleep 200
    send !x
    sleep 200
    getkeystate, state, esc
    if state = d
    goto end
    }
    end:
    msgbox, 4,, End?
    ifmsgbox, yes
    exit
    ifmsgbox, no
    goto begin

    - Run the script

    - Double click on the track(s) you wanna base your audio quantizing on (i.e. snare drum, kick drum, both) and detect its hitpoints, adjusting the sensivity accordingly to your needs.

    - Close the sample editor and group the tracks you want to process (audio quantize).

    - On the main menu click on Audio - Hitpoints - Create Markers from Hitpoints.

    - Now press Ctrl+Alt+Q, the script will run and split the tracks in every marker.

    - When you are done press ESC, otherwise the script will keep running.

    - DON'T TOUCH ANY OTHER KEY WHILE THE PROGRAM SPLITS THE TRACKS!

    - Now that you have the tracks splited, all at the same position, press Q or click on Audio - Realtime Processing - Audio Quantizing.

    - The hits are now quantized, crossfade them.


    Maybe some hits will be quantized to wrong grid lines. It´s no my fault, neither yours, it´s the drummer fault!!
    You will have to "manually quantize" this, hopefully, rare hits.
    Notice that the script will split EVERY marker, be sure to erase the ones previously inserted.
    In order to this script to work keyboard shortcuts Shift-N and Alt-X should be assigned to: "go to next marker" and "split at cursor" respectively, just like it is by default.
    Well, I hope I've been understood and that this helps Nuendo/Cubase users. Feel free to tweak the code to your taste and please share any improvement.

    :headbang:
     
  2. fistula

    fistula Producer/Mixing Engineer

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    thanks for tips)
    i guess you're really often meeting bad drummers)haha
     
  3. thiagodollor

    thiagodollor New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    not that much...but once you begin to split you get addicted to it, (well, as any addiction it has its downsides). And well, it is always good to be prepared.
    ...I forgot to mention that we could begin an Auto Hot Key script sharing thread... I'm sure some good ideas would appear. This thing can automate several tasks, saving time for more important things.
     
  4. everybody's x

    everybody's x My name is Damage

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,768
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    this is cool Ill give it a try, thanks for sharing
     
  5. ~BURNY~

    ~BURNY~ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Thank you so much! :kickass:
     
  6. Daunt

    Daunt Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    Thanks for the script! Could you take some screencaptures? It would be easier to understand the process. Thanks!
     
  7. everybody's x

    everybody's x My name is Damage

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,768
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    +1
    should you put that script file in your nuendo folder or something?
     
  8. ~BURNY~

    ~BURNY~ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Nah, you must load it into AutoHotkey.

    Worked great for me btw. Thanks again.:worship:
    I tried to create some macros in the past. It never worked. Now my wrist can relax as I'm watching the script working for me. A dream came true.
     
  9. Genius Gone Insane

    Genius Gone Insane http://www.¯\(°_o)/¯.com

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,717
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    This is a fantastic idea!
     
  10. R-Stuur

    R-Stuur Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Any idea how you can make this work in REAPER. I havent actually tried it but it sounds good
     
  11. thiagodollor

    thiagodollor New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sorry, but I didn't know Reaper till you mention, but I believe there must be a way since Auto Hot Key can automate any number of mouse clicks or any key combinations, for as long as necessary. Tell me what you wanna do and I will see if I can help you.
     

Share This Page