This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Overloud TH2 is fucking amazing

Discussion in 'Backline' started by InAbsentia_, Mar 25, 2011.

  1. kronk_1985

    kronk_1985 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  2. vaiman

    vaiman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    uk
    @ Clark Kent
    No need mate, just direct them to last years Guitar Tone Competition :lol:

    Yep, that's right folks. Guitar "Tone" Competition.
    And I think the previous year the shitty amp sims done ok.....
     
  3. Doctor Gay

    Doctor Gay Heel

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bel Air, MD
  4. xmortumx

    xmortumx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I need to Demo this :D

    Do they have certain amp models??

    As far as lead tones what set up do you guys use? The reverbs and delays on TH2? how about the cab sim is it any good, because i have amplitube metal and the cabs suck!
     
  5. Clark Kent

    Clark Kent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I must say that I prefer the real amp in this one. The cab selection or mic position is probably the reason.
     
  6. Clark Kent

    Clark Kent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Sure they do... from vintage Fenders and Marshalls to 5150 and Mesa. Cabs are ok although using IRs is what makes this program probably the best software modeler out there. Also I'd say the amp modeling sounds amazingly real.
     
  7. Clark Kent

    Clark Kent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    It's so simple to use the TH2 in recordings when you can fine tune everything to your liking and needs. Also you can change your guitar tone in seconds so no more reamping. Here are a few examples. The last one is a match EQ'd tone which I'm sure you'll love. Sorry for the out-of-tune guitar. :D



     
    #27 Clark Kent, Feb 1, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 23, 2015
  8. Firaxis

    Firaxis Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Newport S.Wales
    The T2 model is incredibly accurate to the real amp, couple of minor differences but the character is all there, I also think it's one of the more "real" sounding amp sims!
     
  9. drew_drummer

    drew_drummer Dancefap

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    6,486
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    London, UK
    No challenge was given. Clark.
     
  10. Clark Kent

    Clark Kent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I was only kidding. :)
     
  11. Doctor Gay

    Doctor Gay Heel

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bel Air, MD
    you know i spent about 9 seconds on the riff to.

    actually, i spent about 9 dollars on the mic as well. it's a nady sp-1 and the amp is a marshall avt-20.

    the point i was trying to make was we get so hung up on tone that this arbitrary war between amps and sims gets started and we all f seen examples of both being commercial. you can pick a side, but it's just as easy to defend the other.

    to progress the thread, do you know of any records where th2 was used?
     
  12. marcoeatsbrains

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yes i think Dimi has used the th2 in one of his recordings he said it is his favorite amp sim.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qRRMuGA1Mo4
     
  13. Clark Kent

    Clark Kent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Well I've used it quite a bit. Audio engineers don't like taking any risks... I got a chance to record in a semi-big studio and they simply didn't let me use my Axe-Fx for on the record we did. Well... here's a zero budget music video I made. The guitars are all TH2.

     
    #33 Clark Kent, Feb 1, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2015
  14. danwit777

    danwit777 New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Recently I made a video for my band. All guitars are TH2 (5150 amp sim).Watch in HD.





    and here is a Randall TH2 sim
     
    #34 danwit777, Feb 2, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2015
  15. kronk_1985

    kronk_1985 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Don't like that Randall sim at ALL.. Sounds like Guitar Rig.
     
  16. updog

    updog Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Finland
    been a frequent user since ver 1.

    i like the tones i get, although i'm not sure if i'd use it for metal tones if i was on windows, what with all the awesome free sims available. it's very versatile though, and i haven't regretted buying it instead of one of the major ampsims.

    i bought an upgrade which imo was executed in the poorest possible way - i got a separate app and a separate plugin, so now i've got TH1 and TH2 and ALL THE PRESETS I'VE MADE ARE IN v1. so, i still got v1 on my hard drive because i can't be arsed to copy all the presets to v2.
     
  17. mva801

    mva801 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,875
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Alright I played with the demo of this and quite liked it, so I sprung for it. Did a little clip with Lasse/ Mago DI's that I think sounds QUITE good. I know everyone's probably sick of these di's, but go compare TH2 with a few of Lasse's real amp tones, and you'll find it holds up pretty well!

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/22572061/TH2 Test.mp3

    Used the modern (rectifier I'm guessing) sim with a TS and a little Pro Q after.

    Edit: Settings:

    [​IMG]
     
  18. Maybelater

    Maybelater Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    Looks like a fun toy. I may have to try the demo again if I can.
     
  19. locus_coeruleus

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    sounds really cool. May I ask where those DI's and backing tracks are?
     
  20. mva801

    mva801 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,875
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Oh I can't really remember. Just use the sneap search for lasse mago di's and they're in a thread. Should be easy to find.
     

Share This Page