This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

REAMP vs. X-amp

Discussion in 'Backline' started by Frank'nfurter, Jan 26, 2006.

  1. Frank'nfurter

    Frank'nfurter Thrash till death

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lörrach, Germany
    Has anybody experience in this issue?

    Differences in sounding, reliability, ec.ec.
     
  2. STINNETT

    STINNETT Bad / Nationwide

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    USA
    I use the X-Amp, so I can't actually compare the two. I am totally happy with it though and use it all the time. Perfect sound, noise free. Sounds just like plugging in the guitar as long as you get a clean DI signal.
     
  3. metalizer

    metalizer www.transparent-metal.com

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Denmark
    I also use the xamp and it always gives me great results, i haven´t tried the reamp, but i would think that the di box is the most important factor.Andy and James both uses the reamp so i would say that if it is good enough for them it will probably also be good enough for you.you should also consider the multi z pip or the red eye from little labs.
     
  4. cobrahead1030

    cobrahead1030 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    anyone have links to these products? i've been meaning to check them out myself
     
  5. Brett - K A L I S I A

    Brett - K A L I S I A Dreaded Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,907
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    France
  6. Genius Gone Insane

    Genius Gone Insane http://www.¯\(°_o)/¯.com

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,726
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    The reamp shoots out at -18dB I think; is it the same with Xamp?
     
  7. cobrahead1030

    cobrahead1030 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    so basically i could run a cable from my soundcard out, into the reamp...and then from the reamp into my amp?

    would it matter what level i recorded the initial dry guitar track at?
     
  8. onid

    onid New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    damn, I didnt even know about reamp boxes... I just run a cable from my soundcard into my amp. (Sometimes with a preamp in between). Works great. It´s important to have good signal though..
     
  9. sah5150

    sah5150 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I use the reamp and it works great. No issues with reliability, one knob to adjust and it just works. Does exactly what it says it does...

    Steve
     
  10. Razorjack

    Razorjack Bass Behemoth

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    IIRC James uses the Radial JD-7 Injector...could be wrong though.
     
  11. A Gruesome Discovery

    A Gruesome Discovery Mmmm... sacrilicious!

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Yes and no; you could always boost the level of the recorded track and/or adjust the output of the X-Amp; this will also boost any noise on the track, but as long as it wasn't recorded at way too low a level, it should be fine. The best thing to do is to compare what your guitar sounds like vs. what the reamp box sounds like through the amp and try to match them as closely as possible. I use a Radial DI box and the X-amp, and without messing with any levels, the X-Amp output sounds no different from my guitar's DI signal(rather, it did after I figured out my sequencer's whole "Panning Law" thing and why I was getting 3dB less output... d'oh).
     
  12. daemon097

    daemon097 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    southern california
    I second that Rajorjack...I remember that post...

    ..and I actually purchased a radial product for reamping...does an amazing job (sounds just like plugging into my amp...)

    However, it's the only product I've used so I can't compare it to anything else..
     
  13. cobrahead1030

    cobrahead1030 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    i suppose the most logical thing to do would be to make note of where my guitar's dry signal sits on my board's dB meter...then check the signal coming form the reamp box, and adjust it to match as closely as possible?

    i know a slight turn of the volume knob, can make a pretty big difference...that's the main problem i'm concerned with running into
     
  14. Daunt

    Daunt Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    Does anyone know any European webstores that sell X-Amp?
     
  15. 2dark

    2dark guitars must be loud

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Benztown, Germany
  16. kaomao

    kaomao Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,475
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bareggio - Milano - Italy (Shitty Town)
    Hey frank have you checked this http://www.littlelabs.com/redeye.html ?
    it's 275 Euros from here (X-amp is 182 Euros here in italy)
    It's expensive, but it's passive (no need for a power supply) and it's a DI box too.
    Very clear signal, no distortion when going direct!!!

    Maurizio
     
  17. Mulder

    Mulder Blacksmith Apprentice

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Yurp
    If you can solder a bit this is also nice.
     
  18. Frank'nfurter

    Frank'nfurter Thrash till death

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lörrach, Germany
    Thank you all lads. It was only a A-B test question. I already own a REAMP box. But thanks for the replies.
    @Mulder: Thanks for the Jensen link.
     
  19. James Murphy

    James Murphy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,481
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    i use the JD7 for it's amp splitting funtionality only.. i still use my Cunibertti Reamp for all reamping.. i actually use the two together so i can switch between amps while reamping, quickly and effectively. see the pic below for a look at the reamping set-up i'm running on my current session:
    [​IMG]
     
  20. 006

    006 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    8,955
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    James, I'll trade you my 5150 for all of those heads. One time offer. :)

    ~006
     

Share This Page