This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Reamp with real amp cab or stick with software amps?

Discussion in 'F.O.H.' started by theguitarfreak, Dec 22, 2013.

  1. theguitarfreak

    theguitarfreak New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi, my band is recording its first album. I have recorded DI tracks for both guitars and bass. While i am able to get decent tones from software amp sims like LePou and Amplitube, i still can feel something missing in the tone.

    I have access to a Peavey 5150II with Peavey 4x12 cab and a Laney Ironheart 120 with the accompanying Laney 4x12 cab and also an Ibanez TS808. I have never recorded through an amp before so i was wondering if it would be worth it to buy a reamp box and use it to reamp the DI tones through one of these amps.

    I am a full time live sound engineer by the way so i have a fairly good understanding of eq and other basic things. I prefer to get it right at the source instead of eqing it to death later. Just wanted to know from guys who have done both amp sims and real amps if it would make a difference micing a real amp.
     
  2. deLuther

    deLuther Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Russia
    It will make difference. Even line signal from amp + impulses can be better tahn software, even TS modelling alone is not quite good, most TS sims does not have even harmonics at all, my favourite is Ignite Amps TS-999 because it has even harmonics, at least with ASYM engaged, so it`s closer to my hardware TS. TSE missed even harmonics after initial first version.
    Quality of reamping also depends on interface, it must have sufficient output level, also good converters.
     
  3. Daybreak

    Daybreak Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Unless you're crazy busy and have no time, if you have the possibility try to reamp the real amp and compare the both. Worst case scenario you're gonna walk out of it with more experience than before!
     
  4. AntonioPetrole

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Definitely give reamping a shot. With that being said, it's much harder to get a great tone micing an amp with all of the different factors between positioning, speakers, settings, power section saturation etc. The list goes on and on. However, you can achieve a infinitely better tone once you have those things down. If you haven't mic'd a cab up before in a studio environment, now would be a time to start.
     
  5. Eduardo Apolonia

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Algarve, Portugal
    I would choose reamp, but that's just me :Smokedev:
     
  6. AntonioPetrole

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Oh please, everyone knows you just have 30+ amp sims.....

    and you're good at photoshopping all those amps into your studio.....

    and it's been my background for 2 years....

    i love you...
     
  7. bryan_kilco

    bryan_kilco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Poconos, PA
    :lol:
     
  8. Eduardo Apolonia

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Algarve, Portugal
    shhhhhhhhh….. Don't tell anyone that….. :)
     

Share This Page