This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Slate Virtual Mix RACK

Discussion in 'Backline' started by jangoux, Oct 17, 2013.

  1. KHE

    KHE Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    switzerland

    soo this piece of shit constantly crashes reaper now... probably sell my licence soon! yeayeah i know, i should have demo it first, but anyway...

    sound quality is great, but its worth nothing if it isnt stable!!! (no other problems with my reaper daw, rock solid until vmr got installed)
     
  2. EOC

    EOC Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Works awesome here in reaper 64bit
     
  3. Pedro Teixeira

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK
  4. LeSedna

    LeSedna Mat or Mateo

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,404
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Montpellier, France
    If it's not designed for the hardware of a current flagship macbook pro, I'm not updating hardware and I'm waiting for Slate to release an update :) There is definitely something going on with VMR that is fixable because all their other softwares are working totally fine with reaper.

    EDIT : didn't understand the question. I can't test it on another daw, but i'm pretty sure it has to do with the plugin itself and reaper being incompatible sometimes; on my own systems it runs but crashes when I quit. It's quite bad because it's not reliable enough for me to be assured it won't crash before it saves, or something like that.
     
  5. Ermz

    Ermz ¯\(°_o)/¯

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    20,382
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Agreed, the plug-in sounds very boring in comparison on that clip.
     
  6. Taurean

    Taurean \m/ \m/

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    hey, thanks for posting these...

    The files should be better level matched however. On the VMR 73, you need a little over .5 dB to match. And the VMR SSL needs almost a dB less, about -.95.

    The vmr 73 loses punch and focus to me. The vmr SSL actually doesn't seem clear, it lacks that mid rangey clarity. And it has come across dark to me.

    It does appear though these vmr modules need more gain per band to match. Comparing for example Nebula at let's say 2dB would equate to may be 3 or 4 on the vmr, generally.

    I have the 1176 shootout and my backstory about it in this post if anybody's interested. Overall I was super excited about vmr but felt a bit let down. I haven't decided 100% on it yet. I dig VBC though!
     
  7. EOC

    EOC Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  8. Taurean

    Taurean \m/ \m/

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Wait is that supposed to be VBC Red against the Focusrite hardware? Or did you use the VMR 401? If so, it should VBC Red versus the Focusrite HW.
     
  9. EOC

    EOC Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It says VMR red, so i guess it is fg 401
     
  10. andygo

    andygo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    MARS
    Sure that was about fg 401 !
     
  11. pipaguapique

    pipaguapique Remember Me

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Chihuahua, Mexico
    yup it was the fg401 against the ssl dyn (which is what i read on the manual that was emulating)

    this is the Dyn section on the channel strip on the console...not the quad bus
     
  12. pipaguapique

    pipaguapique Remember Me

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Chihuahua, Mexico
    Anywho...it was just a quick test...you can still hear the difference and really make your mind to see if you want to buy it or not.
    Also...as we all know if i tried the same test with a different 1073 or a different 1176 or another channel on the console it will come out with a different result.
     
  13. Pursuance

    Pursuance AKA Kylezan

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houma, La
    Ok everyone should be aware that this plug in will NOT work on AMD processors made before 2011. It has been stated by Frabrice that there is an asset missing in those processors that is used to render the GUI.

    Hence, VMR is not working on my AMD Phenom II x6 1090T Black Edition Processor. Crashes Reaper and will not open in Cubase 6.5.

    This issue hasn't been discussed much and honestly should be posted on the main page for this plug in. I bought it without demoing because I'm such a huge fan of Slate but now im stuck with a license i can't use. I just decided it was time to update my rig because of this but still this isn't the way it should be handled.
     
  14. AudioGeekZine

    AudioGeekZine arsehole know-it-all

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Try opening the automation info. That's what crashed it for me.
     
  15. EOC

    EOC Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes, it crashed for me too, but there is a workaround i think
    If i open the automation info an close de plugin window it crashes, if i open the automation info, close the info window and THEN close the plugin, it works.
     
  16. LeSedna

    LeSedna Mat or Mateo

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,404
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Montpellier, France
    Considering in reaper crashes only ever occur from a buggy vst, I am not using it until they release a fix ! I don't have a major need for mixing as of now anyway
     
  17. wishtheend

    wishtheend clip the apex

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,013
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    SL, UT
    No crashes in Sonar X3e on Win 7 64bit. Using VST2.
     
  18. Slate

    Slate Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    AMD processor fix being tested, probably have an update very very soon.

    Regarding comparisons, (and thanks so much for taking the time to do this!) the SSL EQ pots are very finicky which is why you can put one pot at what looks like 4k on the console and it's actually 3.3k, and the channel next to it that same 4k could measure to be 4.3k. So we followed the EQ we modeled precisely, so matching the eq frequencies for a comparison doesn't work, nor do the gain pots. This is why if you look at the eq comparison posted with an analyzer, none of the gain or frequency matches... hence they will sound a bit different. Same goes for the Neve. We modeled the most gorgeous sounding one I've ever heard from NRG Recording, and in front of about 20 people, it nearly nulled out.

    Reaper guys, please send us tickets, and I assure you we'll work on fixes.

    Thanks for the discussion guys.. metal tutorial in the works.

    Cheers,
    Steven
     
  19. ArthurD

    ArthurD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,616
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Brasília - Brazil
    Well, I just have to say I got my best acoustic drum sound woth this. I love mixing without looking, just hearing.
    THank you so much Steven.
     
  20. ChopTones

    ChopTones New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sounds great! Free module is absolutely awesome!
    Can't wait to buy full plugin :D
     

Share This Page