This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Slate Virtual Mix RACK

Discussion in 'Backline' started by jangoux, Oct 17, 2013.

  1. HOFX

    HOFX Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I had VMR in Reaper in Win7 that kept crashing. I had an old Intel Q6600. I went and upgraded to latest i7 and mainboard, and haven't had so much as a hiccup. That was the only time I had issues with any Slate plugin.

    Might be worth considering if it's time for a hardware upgrade?
     
  2. LeSedna

    LeSedna Mat or Mateo

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,404
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Montpellier, France
    Can you create an FX chain with a dozen of them, or a template with 50 of them, and load, quite, load, quit the session without problem? And compare with one with only waves plugins (as a comparison benchmark). In my case doing so is very very unstable and long, and random :/
    vst 2 64bit Yosemite latest reaper i7, 16gb ram 1600 MacBookPro late 2013 with super fast PCIe SSD.

    Hardware upgrade for me is a no-no, I basically have the latest mac laptop with standard components, they probably have 10 of them in their offices, plus a shitload of old ones for compatibility tests !
     
  3. crillemannen

    crillemannen Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,320
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Been mixing in another studio with macpro PT HD. And PT get a short of memory error all the time when i try to open slate plugins. So yeah they are buggy, as always...
     
  4. LeSedna

    LeSedna Mat or Mateo

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,404
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Montpellier, France
    The reason why this time I contacted them two months ago is that VMR is supposed to be the flagship and the loader of everything else. Now if the "box" does not work, nothing will inside and we are screwed. That doesn't sound too good of a future if nothing is fixed properly.
     
  5. Heabow

    Heabow More cowbell!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,994
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    France
    Yesterday, I launched a mixing sesh and the 2 EQ modules were missing. Errr... I switched to my OS clone and eveything was ok. I switched back to my main OS SSD and it was ok. A bit frightening tbh. My next mixes won't included Slate plugins. It's a shame, they're great sounding plugins :/
     
  6. greyskull

    greyskull Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    6,077
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    It's nonsense like this that made me go a buy a REAL FUCKING DESK
     
  7. Autotheist06

    Autotheist06 New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Any news on the VCC 2.0? I can't find anything recent besides the Pro Tools Expert interview at Winter NAMM
     
  8. LeSedna

    LeSedna Mat or Mateo

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,404
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Montpellier, France

    I'm actually considering tracking or printing slate plugins for this reason. As, in the end, I do not play too much with their settings and usually put them to warm up tracks and add harmonic distortion, I think I'll feel safer using input Fx chains to track into them, or printing VCC, and have only reliable plugins in-session. I'm a bit tired of having VMR as the absolute only buggy plugin in my whole library inside of Reaper. Having a lot of slate plugins in a huge session feels dangerous as well, while say my Waves or reaper plugins don't even flinch ever.
     
  9. Clockwork

    Clockwork Bass playing guy.

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Just saw on Stevens instagram that it's coming tomorrow!?!?
     
  10. egan.

    egan. daylightdies.com

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    5,441
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NorCal
    I'll let you guys find out how it's broken for me and I'll try it in six months to a year.
     
  11. Slate

    Slate Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    We've had extremely great feedback regarding VMR stability and as I look at our support tickets, there are very few for VMR. Having said that, there is an update coming out next week, and it further reduces the already low CPU by another 20-40%. I'll have to check if there are any other specific fixes. Thanks for the discussion.

    VCC 2.0 tomorrow.

    Cheers,
    Steven
     
  12. HOFX

    HOFX Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Running VCC with Reaper 4.7, Windows 7, Intel i7, no dramas at all.
     
  13. TonyS.

    TonyS. www.SoundCollab.com | www.risingstorm-music.com

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Berlin
    VCC 2.0 ...any info about aax?
     
  14. andygo

    andygo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    MARS
    Running VCC Pro Tools 10 Win7 64, Intel i7 no prob at all too
     
  15. jeid

    jeid Terribad

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,966
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Scotland
    It'll be AAX, it's one of the main reasons it's taken so long
     
  16. akarawd

    akarawd Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    That's good news :)
     
  17. efx

    efx Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Just installed it. No problems here. I can't wait to dig into it some more.
     
  18. Jaymz

    Jaymz Stymphalian Productions

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    7,429
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    York
    Nice!

    Which is the new console again....the E or the G?
     
  19. Machinated

    Machinated Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, UK
    E is the new one
     
  20. Jaymz

    Jaymz Stymphalian Productions

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    7,429
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    York
    Sounds killer!
     

Share This Page