This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Spectrasonics Trilian Bass

Discussion in 'Backline' started by abt, Nov 8, 2009.

  1. Djabthrash

    Djabthrash Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    4,138
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Paris / Montpellier, FRANCE
    This is the next thing i'm gonna try out (taking Ola's bass Di for instance, then converting it into MIDI, and then playing it through Trilian and comparer original DI vs Trilian DI).
     
  2. Djabthrash

    Djabthrash Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    4,138
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Paris / Montpellier, FRANCE
    EDITED my previous post with new relevant info
     
  3. EmmettAviyn

    EmmettAviyn SmackaDaBass

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Nick did you use trilian on the new IAA?? Did joey use it on the first album as well?
     
  4. billdoah123

    billdoah123 billdoah123

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    I live in North chicago land Illinois....but go ba
    I love Trilian, I will never record another bass track in my life again...This is untrue, but I'm gonna use Trilian as much as I can! had done this track a few months ago when I first got Trilian. I know the mix is horrid and the bass drums are pretty loud, but if you had to work on the PC I did, you would really understand how I got fed up and said "It is, what it is". Oh yeah, and if you didn't notice, it's a cover of a Castlevania song...fucking awesome game!

    http://youtu.be/9cFZ-1H4SSk
     
  5. Djabthrash

    Djabthrash Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    4,138
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Paris / Montpellier, FRANCE
    nice haha :)
     
  6. billdoah123

    billdoah123 billdoah123

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    I live in North chicago land Illinois....but go ba
    Thanks! I love brutal metal and retro games, I think they go together, lol :headbang:
     
  7. araud

    araud New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi!
    I'd like to introduce you Reaper's tablature plug
    Since today it supports keyswitches.
    I hope it will be a good suite for trilian bass.
     
  8. Djabthrash

    Djabthrash Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    4,138
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Paris / Montpellier, FRANCE
    Nice ! Thanks a lot for sharing !
     
  9. The-Zeronaut

    The-Zeronaut Mixing..Y U SO DIFFICULT?

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,796
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Hey dude!!
    awesome to see you here too :kickass:
     
  10. Ionei

    Ionei Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Latrobe Valley, Australia.
    Hey, so when I try to program bass at a reasonable speed a lot of the time 16th notes will come up sounding like it's just picking on a muted string, no real audible note.
    It sounds shitty as fuck and is quite annoying.

    Anyone know a solution to this problem?
     
  11. abt

    abt BT

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I agree with you man, I haven't used Trillian on fast stuff for ages, I'd really like to though.
     
  12. Djabthrash

    Djabthrash Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    4,138
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Paris / Montpellier, FRANCE
    Maybe :

    -double-check your midi score and see if there is no hidden cutoff or weird note overlap or programming
    - check the MIDI channel those notes are played on
    - check the legato/glide/etc settings of Trilian on that Midi channel instrument
     
  13. Djabthrash

    Djabthrash Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    4,138
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Paris / Montpellier, FRANCE
    Maybe :

    -double-check your midi score and see if there is no hidden cutoff or weird note overlap or programming
    - check the MIDI channel those notes are played on
    - check the legato/glide/etc settings of Trilian on that Midi channel instrument
     
  14. Ionei

    Ionei Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Latrobe Valley, Australia.
    Thanks for the help man.
    Checked shit, could find anything out of the ordinary.

    The thing is it SOMETIMES plays it normal.
    Say I'm looping a certain section, first 2 times it plays muted buzz notes, 3rd time it plays the regular normal fast 16th notes that actually sound how they are meant to.

    Even when I put it on No Variation in the Round Robin section IT STILL DOES IT.
    It just plays the same repeated mute sound.


    The fuck is going on.

    Looks like I'm going to have to spend a few hours trying to figure this shit out.
    Fuck my life.
     
  15. Djabthrash

    Djabthrash Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    4,138
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Paris / Montpellier, FRANCE
    OK now it sounds like a problem a lot of people have been experiencing with Trilian and with "heavy" (in disk space) sample libraries, and it has to do with streaming issues on some DAWs... but before in venture into that, i have to ask you a few questions to be sure :

    -is this weird playing/cutoff thing happening during playback ? or bounce ? or both ?

    If it plays fine during playback, but the bounced file sounds erratic then it might be a streaming issue. If so, i can help you :)
     
  16. Ionei

    Ionei Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Latrobe Valley, Australia.
    The weird playing/cutoff thing is happening during both.
    Fuck, I'm thinking it's because I only have 2gb of ram at the moment :/
     
  17. Djabthrash

    Djabthrash Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    4,138
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Paris / Montpellier, FRANCE
    Alright, then in Trilian you have to adjust the streaming/samples reading settings, which you can find in the "system" tab i think.

    Read this : http://v2.spectrasonics.net/support/knowledgebase_view_topic.php?id=394&categoryID=13
    http://v2.spectrasonics.net/support/knowledgebase_view_topic.php?id=395&categoryID=13

    http://support.spectrasonics.net/trilianmanual/system/
     
  18. Ionei

    Ionei Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Latrobe Valley, Australia.
  19. Djabthrash

    Djabthrash Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    4,138
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Paris / Montpellier, FRANCE
    you're welcome
     
  20. OneDaySky

    OneDaySky Clint

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Make your note velocities 110 or above
     

Share This Page