This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

SSD Essential no brainer $20

Discussion in 'Backline' started by jeid, Aug 15, 2012.

  1. Trevoire520

    Trevoire520 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,059
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    It's really easy to use tbh. Much better than the old Kontakt interface
     
  2. bryan_kilco

    bryan_kilco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Poconos, PA
    I've only slightly grazed over the GUI and a few random pre-recorded beats.

    Going to dive in today. I get a bit confused with Bleed Level and Bleed Route but I think once I spend a little time with it, it'll be well worth the $20.
     
  3. bryan_kilco

    bryan_kilco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Poconos, PA
    One thing that is irritating me is that I can't seem to move mixer tracks around. I like having an organized mixer.....this one seems a bit scattered.

    Anyone?
     
  4. LeSedna

    LeSedna Mat or Mateo

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,406
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Montpellier, France
    No ilok, does that mean Slate is gonna ditch the iLok protection in the future or is it specific to this very release because of the low price ?
     
  5. stilllifer

    stilllifer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ditto for me. I was setting up the multi-outs in Reaper and realized I couldn't move them around in the mixer, only in my mixer in Reaper. Not sure if they are fixed and cannot be moved.

    Steven? Maybe have to ask in the SSD forum.
     
  6. bryan_kilco

    bryan_kilco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Poconos, PA
    Also, what has me scratching my head is the routing.

    You have close mics on everything EXCEPT the Crash cymbals. And when you click the route button on the bottom of each track, you have 8 "st" and 8 "mn", which I'm assuming is stereo and mono.

    But - when I set any of the tracks to "mn", they are muted and nothing transfers into REAPER......

    Also, cannot delete any Aux tracks that are created (in SSD Player) or put all tracks into the "SSD Folder" like I'd normally have a drum group (in REAPER).
     
  7. bryan_kilco

    bryan_kilco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Poconos, PA
    https://dl.dropbox.com/u/6443251/SSD4 Drum Mix Test 1.mp3

    Just a rough text drum mix. Any of the better midi drum dudes in here want to let me know if I'm in any way, shape, or form on the right track?

    It's a bit different for me in the MIDI editor as when I'm zoomed in close for faster beats, there aren't any ruler/markers close enough together to be able to fly through it...sort of have to count the bars... I'm sure I'll catch on to it though.

    Oh, any way to set maybe a right-click as a delete button? Having to click the note and hit the delete key gets frustrating.
     
  8. LeSedna

    LeSedna Mat or Mateo

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,406
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Montpellier, France
    In diamond mode I think you can click a note to write it, and click again to remove it. I'm not on my computer so I can't be too sure though.

    Otherwise the mouse modifiers could be of help. You could set up a part of the note as "delete". I have set up the bottom half of every note as "left click = slice" for editing. A bit extreme to set it as "delete item" since it would be confusing at times to delete files without knowing it but you could set up a specific set of mouse modifiers for drum parts writing ?
     
  9. bryan_kilco

    bryan_kilco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Poconos, PA
    Excuse me for my multiple posts.

    As soon as I feel I have a better grasp on this, another problem arises.

    I may be doing this wrong. Let me try to get this straight:

    -Insert Virtual Instrument on New Track
    -Click YES to route SSD to REAPER
    -Go into SSD and route each track to different tracks in REAPER. (Kick - 1st, all snare tracks -2st, all toms -3st, etc.)

    Everything routes ok, but if I raise or lower the fader on the bus that contains SSD, it controls only the kick drum, and not the whole drum mix.

    *CONFUSED AS HECK*

    It seems that if/when I change drumkits, certain parts of the kit get routed to different MIDI numbers/notes...?!?! All I did was go through the supplied samples and now my crashes aren't on the normal crash note/key.

    Grrrr....head ready to pop!

    Off to practice and probably mess with it later after a few beers....

    LeSedna - correct, I discovered double click to write, double click to delete. :)
     
  10. Slate

    Slate Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
  11. Xciter

    Xciter New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Bought it!
     
  12. Executorg

    Executorg Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Slate, I bought in summer 2010 EX and all (i think) expansions packs on audiomidi deal, so i have SSD3.5 Platinum or not? Possible to upgrade to 4.0 platinum in deal that you stated ("There will be another SSD3.5 to 4.0 promotion coming very soon.")?
     
  13. Slate

    Slate Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Yes you'll be able to get credit for your EX packs and upgrade to 4.0 this week.

    Steven
     

Share This Page