This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

SSD for an audio drive?

Discussion in 'Backline' started by Ermz, Apr 25, 2015.

  1. Matt-Steele

    Matt-Steele Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York
    Hey Ermz,

    Honestly I think you'll be fine with a few Samsung Evo's. Coming from traditional storage, it'll be plenty fast for you. In time when prices come down you can always think about upgrading, especially that processor. ;) I'm running two 500GB Samsung EVO's myself and they are plenty fast for me and fairly inexpensive for what you're getting.
     
  2. Ermz

    Ermz ¯\(°_o)/¯

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    20,382
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I'm thinking a regular SSD should be fine for the audio drive. I can't imagine the read rate needing to be insanely high unless my track counts go up to like 600, at which point I'd have long since committed suicide anyway.

    I've decided on the X99-A board. I don't really need any of the features offered by the higher models.
     
  3. Astrikos

    Astrikos Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Athens Greece
    Is ssd raid usefull for audio?
     
  4. Torniojaws

    Torniojaws They call me Juha

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,068
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Espoo, Finland
    Just a quick comment about SSD lifetime. I've had my 80GB Intel X25-M G2 since May 2010, and it's still going strong.
     
  5. kaomao

    kaomao Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,475
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bareggio - Milano - Italy (Shitty Town)
    instead of seate I'd buy a WD (western digital) costs more but is way more reliable, at least that's my experience
     
  6. Melodeath

    Melodeath Moonbow

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    3,046
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Northern VA
    I have had the exact opposite experience. All my Seagate drives have been fine, and the one WD I owned started having issues right after the warranty expired. However, I know a bunch of Seagate 3TB drives had major issues a year or two ago.
     
  7. fremen

    fremen Old newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Banana Republic of Mauritius
    So Ermz, how's your computer working after many months ? Curious because I have the same processor, and two SSD drives, one for system and one for drums and synths librairies (both Samsung EVO). I still record on conventional hard disks but I consider shifting to SSD for that as well.
     
  8. Ermz

    Ermz ¯\(°_o)/¯

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    20,382
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    It's working great. No complaints so far.
     
  9. ArsMemoria

    ArsMemoria Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Buffalo Grove, IL
    Ermz, what capacity did you go for? Wondering what a good size would be for an audio drive run on an SSD instead of getting a 2TB+ platter drive which would seem like the better idea.
     
  10. He's Dead, Jim

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,429
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    I ended up going with a 1TB HDD for old projects/sample libraries/games/PDFs and mp3s and a 250GB SSD for active projects, the OS, and plugins. If you have an actual studio you might need more, but it's working great for me so far. Already transferred my active projects from my laptop and my SSD has plenty of space. Should gain more when I upgrade since Windows 10's footprint is smaller too.
     
  11. JeffTD

    JeffTD Senhor Testiculo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Playing fast and loose with the word 'upgrade' are we?
     
  12. He's Dead, Jim

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,429
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    :p I'm waiting until the bugs are ironed out. So 2019 probably.
     
  13. ArsMemoria

    ArsMemoria Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Buffalo Grove, IL
    That's the same thing I'm doing with my rMBP at the moment since it has the SSD built-in, just without the backup drive for old projects, samples, etc.
     
  14. JeffTD

    JeffTD Senhor Testiculo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I'd still recommend and honestly believe that you'd get a performance boost by running one SSD for your OS, plugins, and programs, and another separate, entirely different SSD for active sessions. Running everything off one drive is still not ideal, even on an SSD.
     
  15. Ermz

    Ermz ¯\(°_o)/¯

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    20,382
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    With the cost of SSDs at present you're not going to be able to get one to both run active sessions and archive them. I've got a 250GB Samsung EVO for active sessions, and a 4TB RAID1 array for important storage and session archives.
     

Share This Page