This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

The REAPER appreciation thread!

Discussion in 'Backline' started by JonWormwood, Jan 19, 2012.

  1. LeSedna

    LeSedna Mat or Mateo

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,406
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Montpellier, France
    One last tricky question : is there any way to make buses ID from 1 to 8 ?

    I explain myself : You can "group folders to the left" or do the same with "tracks which have receives". but their ID are still the original one. Result : midi communication with controllers won't show the busses to the left, but they will still show the tracks according to their ID number, from 1 to the last one. Therefore the feature is not usable with a controller because it will then not show the same. So the "group folders to the left" is only a cosmetic/GUI action in Reaper, but I would like it to actually show on a controller. Is there any way to do this as of now ? Of course I can send/receive to tracks manually, which I have done, but if this could be done natively or automatically, that would make my day !
     
  2. EOC

    EOC Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The only way to do this is a mackie protocol controler with klinke plugin so you can use folder mode.

    Lets say you have 8 main folders. It doesnt matter their id or the order, in folder mode you can control those folders with eight faders. with the press of a button you go inside the folder and now your faders control those tracks inside the folders.

    You can also set anchors. This means that a fader locks to a track.

    This can´t be done with touchosc , only MCU protocol and klinke plugin for reaper.
     
  3. AudioGeekZine

    AudioGeekZine arsehole know-it-all

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Vancouver
    SWS Snapshots works much like Import Session Data in Pro Tools for that.
    If the tracks in the two sessions are named the same then it is automatic. If the names are different you'll have to manually assign/reassign/create new.

    You can also save and recall the entire session or selected tracks to different versions of the mix very quickly.
     
  4. LeSedna

    LeSedna Mat or Mateo

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,406
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Montpellier, France
    Thanks i'll look into all that when I have time again !
     
  5. SoundsLikeFog

    SoundsLikeFog Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
  6. texisthebest

    texisthebest Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    My cave
  7. LeSedna

    LeSedna Mat or Mateo

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,406
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Montpellier, France
    I am not home right now but a simple question : is there an action to apply a folder volume setting to children tracks so the folder goes back to volume 0dB ? The idea is : I would like once satisfied with volume static mix to have all bus faders at zero to start automation. Say I needed +3dB on the vocal BUS, I would like it to go back to 0dB and apply +3dB to all tracks inside the folder. Is there such an action ?
     
  8. EOC

    EOC Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You could make a custom action such as, select all children in current folder, run reaconsole +3db action. Or simply select all children with a shorcut and move one fader to whatever level you want and all of the other faders will follow.
     
  9. AudioGeekZine

    AudioGeekZine arsehole know-it-all

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Perfect use for a VCA, wait till V5.
     
  10. He's Dead, Jim

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,429
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Any rumors regarding when it might be released? I've seen people using test versions on the Reaper forum, but I assume it could still be a while.
     
  11. LeSedna

    LeSedna Mat or Mateo

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,406
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Montpellier, France
    I am not sure, I thought the grouping matrix was reaper's VCA ? what is V5 gonna change ? I have been trying to use v5 beta but some of my VST are unstable on it when pre-scanning the VST folder. Where would be the total list of improved features so far ? I could only see step by step lists ?
     
  12. AudioGeekZine

    AudioGeekZine arsehole know-it-all

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Proper VCAs, probably more customizable than in other daws. I don't have a full list, but these are the things I've noted over the past month.

    Notation editor
    VCA grouping
    New theme
    LUA scripting
    Automation for item FX
    Video filters
    VST3

    There are some big features but nothing that's going to shake up the industry.
     
  13. EOC

    EOC Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I Just discover auto color regions. Man i love this daw!!!!!!!!!
     
  14. bryan_kilco

    bryan_kilco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Poconos, PA
    Care to elaborate?
     
  15. EOC

    EOC Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Auto color is an SWS extension tool that auto colors tracks, markers and regions.

    So it goes like this. You open you auto color configuration an you make a list (which is saved for every project).

    In the list you set things like: Tracks named guitars gets color red, tracks named drums gets yellow. Region called chorus get blue, region called Riff gets Red, etc

    So when you create a project and create a region called chorus it automatically get coloured with red an so on.
     
  16. bryan_kilco

    bryan_kilco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Poconos, PA
    Ahhh, awesome! I'll have to check into that. Right now I just use a template that has everything colored.
     
  17. EOC

    EOC Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I use a template too, but i have to manually set regions (becouse they are song dependent) so this is great
     
  18. LeSedna

    LeSedna Mat or Mateo

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,406
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Montpellier, France
    Yep auto color is awesome. I have my personal colouring and it saves time, worst case I just need to rename files to my liking, so when I import them they already are named and look like what I expect.

    All it does

    @EOC : I think you can also save regions within your template so each time you fire it up you can just drag/place/copy them if you use them. Like have pre-set a "intro/verse/chorus/bridge/solo/outro" set of regions could save you time if you pretty much always use them !
     
  19. EOC

    EOC Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yeah you can save the regions within templates so the only thing you just need to do is place them in sync to the structure of the song. But i dont know why but it seemed faster creating the region and just name it. Gonna try again your suggestion though
     
  20. Scottxx

    Scottxx Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Guys, I like Reaper and use it although I'm a rookie. Do you know how to change a window background color?

    Thank you, coudln't find the answer.
     

Share This Page