This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

The REAPER appreciation thread!

Discussion in 'Backline' started by JonWormwood, Jan 19, 2012.

  1. AudioGeekZine

    AudioGeekZine arsehole know-it-all

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Vancouver
  2. JonWormwood

    JonWormwood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,886
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Jax, Fl
    Still using reaper live. rock solid!
     
  3. FarBeyondMetal

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    What interface do you use to do this? I am thinking about going this route, but need a smaller interface than what I am using at home.
     
  4. JonWormwood

    JonWormwood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,886
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Jax, Fl
    Motu 828mk3. Internal DSP and 8 stereo mixes for IEMs. Ultralite mk3 for backup.
     
  5. AudioGeekZine

    AudioGeekZine arsehole know-it-all

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Vancouver
  6. worldwideweapon

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What custom theme/pref is this, where you get all those quick buttons and views like that? Looks awesome and super efficient.
     
  7. JonWormwood

    JonWormwood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,886
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Jax, Fl
  8. worldwideweapon

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  9. AudioGeekZine

    AudioGeekZine arsehole know-it-all

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Vancouver
  10. LBTM

    LBTM Proud Behringer User

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  11. LeSedna

    LeSedna Mat or Mateo

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,406
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Montpellier, France
    You can do them yourself and add whatever reaper action or macro you want, and as many as you want.
     
  12. AudioGeekZine

    AudioGeekZine arsehole know-it-all

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Vancouver
  13. LBTM

    LBTM Proud Behringer User

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yeah, sure it was ;)

    Do you own the site? I would love to see some more videos for reaper in the future.
     
  14. AudioGeekZine

    AudioGeekZine arsehole know-it-all

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Yes, it's my site. I'm trying to get a video out once a week but I'm horrible at video production. A 5 min screencast takes me like 5 hours to edit!

    When Final Cut runs out of RAM the waveforms disappear, I have 12GB but that's somehow not enough. It's incredibly frustrating since I'm used to Reaper's waveforms.
     
  15. JonWormwood

    JonWormwood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,886
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Jax, Fl
    Played another flawless show with reaper.

    I really hate how it manages time related tasks. Moving a bunch of tempo/sig markers.

    This problem plagued me for months but if you hold shift + cmd you can drag all the tempo markers and move them horizontally but not vertically.
     
  16. JonWormwood

    JonWormwood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,886
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Jax, Fl
    Just some action I use from time to time. Regions, take crop, dynamic split, trim etc.
     
  17. bryan_kilco

    bryan_kilco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Poconos, PA
    Sloppy blowjobs to you, sir!

    I've been trying to figure this out for years.
     
  18. JonWormwood

    JonWormwood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,886
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Jax, Fl
    Drove me nuts! I'd move em over but they wouldn't snap to a zero decimal. So rather then example 140, it would be 139.879 or 140.122. Dumb shit!
     
  19. DanLights

    DanLights Santa Hat Forever

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,122
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Alcalá de Henares, Madrid, Spain
    what do you mean horizontally but not vertically? How do you move a tempo marker vertically?
     
  20. bryan_kilco

    bryan_kilco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Poconos, PA
    I know what you mean. The only other way (I think) I discovered is if you create a region over the entire track and move the region around. But if I recall correctly, last time I messed with the regions it sorta confused me.

    I'm going to go ahead and leave this post here from another REAPER thread. This helped me out yesterday.

    http://www.ultimatemetal.com/forum/f-o-h/850825-tutorial-converting-drums-midi-reaper.html

    There are a bunch of extra menus that aren't listed in certain toolbars. The MIDI editor/CTRL+F2 thing.....Couldn't figure that out on my own.
     

Share This Page