This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Thermionik Amp Modeler Plugin by Kazrog LLC

Discussion in 'Backline' started by superfreak, Jan 22, 2014.

  1. Kazrog

    Kazrog CEO/CTO, Kazrog, Inc.

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,539
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    California
    Hahaha this reminds me of guys bankrupting themselves building Bitcoin mining rigs. So sorry for the CPU issues, guys. I'm also exploring NVIDIA CUDA as a future possibility.
     
  2. Fox Mulder

    Fox Mulder The Truth Is Out There

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,207
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    I seem to be getting a 57% usage in Presonus StudioOne x64 with no other plugins engaged. However, on Reaper x64 it hardly crosses 5%.

    [​IMG]

    Edit:
    Core i5 2500k, 4cores, 8threads
    44.1 khz sample rate
    256 samples
     
  3. MrBongo

    MrBongo idiot at work

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Ruhrpott Germany
    i reported the same via support page, only to find that reaper is showing totally nonsense cpu usage, on just one of my 2 computers.

    it pretty much made one computer crap out below 10% reported usage in reaper, while it showed correct values on the other one :err:

    btw: 5% seems correct, it´s 20-21% on an i5-2400 at 64samples buffer
     
  4. Fox Mulder

    Fox Mulder The Truth Is Out There

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,207
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    @Kazrog: FYI, Recabinet 4 seems to be extremely stable via the Fxpansion VST>RTAS Wrapper in Pro Tools 9. Just thought I'd let you know. Don't know if it matters :loco:
     
  5. Kazrog

    Kazrog CEO/CTO, Kazrog, Inc.

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,539
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    California
    Wild, that's great to know. Thanks!
     
  6. Canaan

    Canaan Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    336 NC
    Any ETA on an updated version capable of running at 96k? TIA
     
  7. Kazrog

    Kazrog CEO/CTO, Kazrog, Inc.

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,539
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    California
  8. Canaan

    Canaan Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    336 NC
    Word thanks brah! Btw recab 4 is so badass dude! Thanks so much for all the effort that was put into this. Between this and x50v2 I'm not really sure I need to do much reamping these days.
     
  9. anotherpaul

    anotherpaul Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Moscow, Russia
  10. epo21

    epo21 New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  11. anotherpaul

    anotherpaul Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Moscow, Russia
    @epo21
    Just Reaper's stock readelay
     
  12. A.D.I.

    A.D.I. New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chambéry, FRANCE
    Just a question, maybe already answered in the past, but what's the mic distance used for the 3 different proposed options : close / medium / far ?
     
  13. RiF

    RiF Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Germany
    LOL! So true!
     
  14. Kazrog

    Kazrog CEO/CTO, Kazrog, Inc.

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,539
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    California
    So, please excuse the sloppy playing here - I've been extremely busy working on the 4.0.1 update and had a few minutes to play guitar today, for the first time in over a week. This is off the cuff improv, designed to showcase how versatile Thermionik is, even with this initial pack of modern "high gain" amps. This particular preset is using a Fender Eric Johnson Stratocaster (middle pickup setting) into the Crunch channel of the Damage model into a couple of vintage cabinets:



    As you can hear, I'm periodically tweaking the guitar's volume knob to get a cleaner sound, but this model is also highly responsive to picking attack even with the guitar volume cranked. This was created using the 4.0.1 beta (in progress.)

    Download preset here.
     
    #474 Kazrog, Nov 6, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 23, 2015
  15. Manicompression

    Manicompression doing it for the kids

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cleveland OH
    ^Dynamics in this clip are impressive
     
  16. Kazrog

    Kazrog CEO/CTO, Kazrog, Inc.

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,539
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    California
    Recabinet 4.0.1 update & free demo are out now. Click here. :cool:
     
  17. dipje

    dipje New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    maybe too quick to respond :p, but if I log in in the normal member area, the link I get is for 4.0.1, but the link still reads 4.0.0 (Win x64 VST anyway). Minor thing :p
     
  18. Kazrog

    Kazrog CEO/CTO, Kazrog, Inc.

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,539
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    California
    Good catch, just fixed. Thanks! :kickass:
     
  19. Manicompression

    Manicompression doing it for the kids

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cleveland OH
    Just wanted to drop a line and say thanks for making the demo available. I've been planning on picking this up because I liked Recab 3 well enough and "why not?", but I always like to try the demos of new things because I run a fairly old setup ( win vista64 / cubase 5 ).

    I inserted this on some current guitar noodling / superior projects and I am blown away. To speak to the accuracy, the Dual Recto actually sounds like my Dual Recto. Its very dynamic feeling, very open but with a bit of that ugly fizz that makes Rectos so cool. The 5150 is dead on, Ive played and recorded enough to comment I would say. I dont own any of the other guitar amps modeled but they all have the vibe that I would expect them to have going on and just sound flat out superb.

    Also, I've always been sort of lukewarm to the majority of the stock impulse library in Recab but in conjunction with the amp sim they actually sound pretty remarkable across the board.

    The only critique I have is regarding the BassOmatic amp model, It just sounded plain awful to me, am I missing something? Is it for blending with a full range bass tone or do I need to think about how I set it up differently than a normal amp? It just sounds kind of tinny and wacky. In fairness, I REALLY liked some of the clean channel models going into a stock recab bass cab, so its not like great bass tones arent available in the plug, I just thought it was odd the one for bass seemed the worst on bass.

    Anyways, Im definitely going in full VIP after demoing this. Awesome work on this. I totally recommend that people check this out for themselves.
     
  20. vejichan

    vejichan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I already have recabinet 3.. so should i uninstall/delete it before downloading recabinet 4?
     

Share This Page