This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.


Discussion in 'These Are They' started by Novembers Paul, Aug 24, 2009.

  1. Novembers Paul

    Apr 24, 2002
    Likes Received:
    Trophy Points:
    Chicago, Illinois

    THESE ARE THEY — the Chicago-based death metal band featuring vocalist Paul Kuhr (NOVEMBERS DOOM), guitarist Steve Nicholson (ex-NOVEMBERS DOOM), bassist Wiley Wells (EARTHEN) and drummer Sasha Horn (TRIALS) — has announced the addition of guitarist Justin Jurgevich (HURTLOCKER) to the group's ranks. After many months of auditions, "Justin brings with him the perfect combination of his love for old school death metal, dedication to his instrument, and chemistry with the band which makes him the perfect addition," according to a press release.

    THESE ARE THEY will release its full-length debut, "Who Linger", on November 10 via Unruly Sounds/The End Records.

    The track listing is as follows:

    01. Ascension
    02. the Voices Sound Deadly
    03. Upon the Doors of Oblivion
    04. In the Halls of Waverly
    05. Blood Vengeance
    06. Eclipse Abysmal
    07. The Indweller
    08. The Midnight Hour
    09. Resurrection in White
    10. 4th of July (SOUNDGARDEN cover)

    Their "4th of July" SOUNDGARDEN cover is available for streaming on the band's MySpace page.

    THESE ARE THEY's debut EP, "Who Manifest", came out on May 12 exclusively via The End Records' online mail order service, The Omega Order. It was recorded, mixed, and mastered by Chris Wisco at Belle City Sound in Racine, Wisconsin.

    Thirteen years after departing NOVEMBERS DOOM, Nicholson reunited with Kuhr in 2008 in order to create something new and fresh. With the help of Wells, along with good friends Mike LeGros (DISINTER,EARTHEN) and drummer Evan Berry, a musical style was chosen, material was written, and THESE ARE THEY recorded its debut EP.

    Guitar-driven, downtuned and powerful, the material is old-school Chicago death metal with flashes of BOLT THROWER, OBITUARY, and ENTOMBED and contains more headbanging hook than you can shake a fist at.

    Paying tribute to the bands that have paved the way with their greatness,THESE ARE THEY will follow with their own take on a style of death metal that to this day has no equal in hook, power, and brutality.


    Paul Kuhr (vocals)
    Steve Nicholson (guitar)
    Justin Jurgevich (guitar)
    Wiley Wells (bass)
    Sasha Horn (drums)


Share This Page

  • About Us

    Our music community has been around for almost 15 years and we pride ourselves on offering great metal music discussion, as well as music production and other closely related topics. We work hard every day to make sure our community is one of the best. Enjoy!
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Donate ♥

    We have worked hard for 15 years (and running) to make sure our Metal community is running fast, uses the best software, and isn't overloaded with advertising. If you love the forum as much as we love bringing it to you, please show your support with a generous donation. We really appreciate it!