This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Trigger 2 Update Is Finally Here!!!!

Discussion in 'Backline' started by brianhood, Aug 5, 2015.

  1. brianhood

    brianhood No Care Ever

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,543
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Except not.

    Seriously, it's been almost a year and a half since the last Trigger 2 update.

    This is one of the most unstable and unusable plugins I own, and it's frustrating because it's one of their flagship products. They seem to just be neglecting it.

    I'm done with this rant, but am I the only one frustrated by this?

    I'm to the point where i'm desperate for a better alternative for drum sampling in Pro Tools 11
     
  2. Studdy

    Studdy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Have you tried the latest Drumagog? The old one was pretty bad, but i like drumagog 5 better than the others. Most dont agree but i find it accurate and dont end up doing to much by hand at all. I know quite a few quys love the massey one. Cheers.
     
  3. brianhood

    brianhood No Care Ever

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,543
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    I hated drumagog 5 when I first tried it, but that was years ago so maybe I should give it another go.

    What is the "massey one"? Do you mean massey DRT?
     
  4. Studdy

    Studdy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes, more work, but very accurate i think.

    Cheers!
     
  5. JeffTD

    JeffTD Senhor Testiculo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I got sick enough of it that I ended up getting a refund for the original purchase price of Trigger1 3-4 years after I originally purchased it. The only way Slate will listen to us on his products being broken dogshit is if it hurts his wallet.

    I find it HILARIOUS in his new video for the subscription service that he says most of Slate Digital staff are all working engineers/mixers... I do not believe that for one second - anyone who actually used their products on a regular basis would know how unstable they are.
     
  6. Machinated

    Machinated Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    4,237
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, UK
    i bought DRT today. WAY more accurate than trigger. kind of annoyed that my trigger libraries are useless now. considering picking up the SSD versions instead so I can use them with DRT
     
  7. Heabow

    Heabow More cowbell!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,994
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    France
    Exactly my thoughts.
     
  8. kaomao

    kaomao Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,475
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bareggio - Milano - Italy (Shitty Town)
    Well I totally love massey DRT, less trouble! it triggers a lot better than Trigger2, but sometimes is not really accurate, I have to move some trigger points to avoid phase problems (or move the resulted midi notes).
    When it fails to trigger properly, it triggers the transient too early, btw I have the plugin updated to the latest version.
    I don't use Trigger to trigger audio anymore, but I use it on midi notes generated by massey DRT
     
  9. kaomao

    kaomao Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,475
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bareggio - Milano - Italy (Shitty Town)
    Yeah SSD with DRT is the way to go.
    There are more raw sounds, so you can tweak them better.
     
  10. greyskull

    greyskull Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    6,077
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I've been using it this way since it came out!! I prefer the flexibility of midi, and knowing absolutely that a note will or won't trigger
     
  11. brianhood

    brianhood No Care Ever

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,543
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    well my current workflow for resampling is this:

    1. Convert drums to midi via Massey DRT
    2. run that midi into Trigger 1 (because Trigger 2 literally does not work with MIDI)
    3. Print samples from trigger 1 to audio track


    I'm pretty much dead set on resampling via MIDI because of how much time is saves me with velocity automation, and how much control it gives me with that.

    That being said, any suggestions for alternatives for midi triggering, I'm open to new ideas.
     
  12. kaomao

    kaomao Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,475
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bareggio - Milano - Italy (Shitty Town)
    In my case (PT 11) Trigger2 works with MIDI, when it occasionally doesn't trigger, I just unload and reload the plugin (making it inactive and reactivating it again)
     
  13. brianhood

    brianhood No Care Ever

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,543
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    In my case, Trigger 2 doesn't work with MIDI.

    It adds a weird amount of latency to random instances of Trigger...and inactive\reactivating doesn't help, nor does restarting Pro Tools.

    Not only that, but Trigger 2 is a guaranteed crash-fest for me. So unstable.
     
  14. kaomao

    kaomao Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,475
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bareggio - Milano - Italy (Shitty Town)
    Osx or windows??
    I'm working with montain lion
     
  15. EOC

    EOC Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i never had any issue with trigger or any other slate plug until yesterday with the new VMR update, sometimes, when you have the new modules in the racks it just stops sounding. But trigger, never a problem
     
  16. Heabow

    Heabow More cowbell!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,994
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    France
    Slate plugins are great but they're unstable as fuck. I get bugs & crashes all the time with VMR and VTM. And FG-x loses settings when I reopen a session, move the instance or de/activate a track. I can't even trust 100% the save button. A pain in the ass to note the settings and double check every fucking time my settings!! I think I'll sell every Slate stuff and get real professional plugins.
     
  17. sander

    sander Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    The only issue with the drt + ssd combo is the fact that ssd can't load .tci files (which is bullshit).
     
  18. JeffTD

    JeffTD Senhor Testiculo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I've done this; between Waves, FabFilter, and MetricHalo I'm pretty well set + super stable.
     

Share This Page