This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Windows 10

Discussion in 'Bar' started by ForHerDeadEyes, Jul 29, 2015.

  1. ForHerDeadEyes

    ForHerDeadEyes Señor Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sweden
    I can't even turn off Windows Defender, and I'm using Comodo.
    Even so, like I said, it says "You can turn this off temporarily, but if it's off for a while we'll turn it back on automatically."

    Don't forget to check under Privacy in your settings, even if you don't agree with my criticism of the other stuff, what's in there is fucking horrible.
    Can't even turn off sending information to Microsoft, only set it to "basic".
    The defaults choices are crazy, probably so they can force ads on you/sell your information. I've never really complained (meh, minor details that doesn't ruin the OS or experience) about Windows that I've used (3.11, 95, XP, 7), but I don't like this direction.
    Like I said before, my Music PC isn't connected, so I'll probably install a slaughtered, slimmed down version of 10.
     
  2. sjcortese

    sjcortese Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I've done three installs on my family's computers at home. All were done by downloading the update and install. I did the update then a clean install on my machine. I used a product key viewer on all three machines and they all show the exact same product key/serial number. It's the serial number that I had to enter when I did the clean install. So my guess is that all the 10 home upgrades have the same key but are registered by hardware config? Just seemed strange.

    ~scott
     
  3. Notuern

    Notuern Bloody vaginal belch

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
  4. JBroll

    JBroll I MIX WITH PHYSICS!!!!

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,919
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX, USA
    Can't see your image there...

    JB
     
  5. JeffTD

    JeffTD Senhor Testiculo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
  6. JBroll

    JBroll I MIX WITH PHYSICS!!!!

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,919
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX, USA
    I'm getting a 403, strangest thing.

    JB
     
  7. kaomao

    kaomao Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,475
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bareggio - Milano - Italy (Shitty Town)
    And btw I have both steam and windows defender installed and never had a problem with updates/downloads!
    Just tell the family member that for porn he/she must surfs xhamster.com or xvideos.com instead of surfing wrong websites
    Viruses = porn on the wrong sites....
    windows defender is the best antivirus you can get on windows, the rest is pure garbage.
    Never had a virus problem on W7, maybe I can even turn off Windows defender :D
     
  8. Pedro Teixeira

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK
    Who here is already running Windows 10 with a mainstream DAW and plugins? I'm quite curious how stable it is, seeing that the Audio Engine has improved latency over the previous versions.

    I just hate the way MS went about doing this though, forcing you to upgrade, then needing to extract the key so you can do a clean install.
     
  9. Winston Wolf

    Winston Wolf Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    If you have to do this,then you probably have way more serious problems than
    viruses on PC.
     
  10. Loki Laufeyiarson

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Seeing that picture makes me consider giving Ubuntu another try. :(
     
  11. Notuern

    Notuern Bloody vaginal belch

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Here in Sweden its even a debate whether or not it even can be used within the public sector due to privacy and data laws.
    Since it shares so much information with Microsoft and even contains a keylogger, there just is no way to ensure that personal information wont be shared with a third party etc.
    The OS it self seems to be really good from everything I've read and heard about it, but the vasts amount of data it collects on you is nothing but frightening.
     
  12. sjcortese

    sjcortese Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The 'keylogger" was in the technical preview and was disclosed in the agreement. It also said that it, as well as some other data collection features, were not permanent. If anyone that had the tech preview didn't know about that stuff then they shouldn't have installed it. There's still concerns in the current release about privacy but we'll see how that pans out with all the talk and complaints about it on the internet.
     
  13. egan.

    egan. daylightdies.com

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    5,441
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NorCal
  14. kaomao

    kaomao Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,475
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bareggio - Milano - Italy (Shitty Town)
    It was a joke....
     
  15. KillFrenzy

    KillFrenzy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Bumping this kinda old thread to see if you guys have been using Win 10 on your audio PCs.
    I use it on my laptop and the performance is not good, but I haven't used any other OS on it yet other than the Win8 that came with it. So I can't compare to Win7 (which I'm still using on the studio).
     
  16. Genius Gone Insane

    Genius Gone Insane http://www.¯\(°_o)/¯.com

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,707
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Fuck no. I am still on XP using a 13 year old computer that is offline and runs great. Hope I am not jinxing it.
     

Share This Page