This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

would I benefit from a DI box?

Discussion in 'Backline' started by bryan_kilco, Apr 19, 2013.

  1. bryan_kilco

    bryan_kilco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Poconos, PA
    I looked around because I thought there was a thread similar to this but couldn't find anything.

    Since I'll be upgrading my recording computer, I'm also buying a few other things I've wanted for a while.

    Thinking of a Countryman Type 85 DI box, but I'm running a Profire 2626 interface.

    Would a DI box in front of this interface really make much difference, or should I just stick with the 2626's Instrument Input for tracking DI signals?

    EDIT: After a bit of research, it appears the specs for the Profires Hi-Z inputs are pretty decent. But now I have my eye on a LL Redeye since it can reamp as well.
     
  2. AntonioPetrole

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Just my 2 cents, I noticed a better dynamics in my DI's after I got a countryman type 85 and I also use a Profire 610. It's not gonna make or break it, but imo it's one less thing for me to blame as far as why my recordings sound like garbage haha
     
  3. bryan_kilco

    bryan_kilco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Poconos, PA
    I also notice the RedEye is about $100 more than the Type 85. And, I recall someone here (guitarguru?) saying they reamped straight out of their Profire 2626 with no issues. So, maybe I can pass on the reamp box for now? Just tired of using amp sims when we have a Mark IV, Dual Recto, and 5150 at our disposal.....
     
  4. bryan_kilco

    bryan_kilco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Poconos, PA
    Bump.

    Any other opinions on this? Just trying to figure out if it's even worth it to drop $ on a DI box if the Profire will be limiting me anyway.
     
  5. nialldoran

    nialldoran Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Belfast, N.Ireland
    id be interested in this too as i use a pro40 which is in the *Price range* same range as a 2626,
     
  6. LBTM

    LBTM Proud Behringer User

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I've got quite a few good DIs and preamps and I would say NO, don't get a DI. The difference is so minimal it doesn't worth it. Well by saying difference I don't necessarily mean "a difference to a better sound". Why do you want a DI? To improve your tone? It won't really.
     
  7. bryan_kilco

    bryan_kilco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Poconos, PA
    Yeah, just looking for improvement but if a dedicated DI box isn't a huge leap forward, I may as well invest my $ into other things I want.
     
  8. LBTM

    LBTM Proud Behringer User

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yeah it will be a really tiny leap forward so just invest in something else. ;)
     
  9. Machinated

    Machinated Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    4,264
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, UK
    i prefer the DI's on my mackie onyx to my redeye. still use it for reamping though.

    i want to get a radial J48 at some point. i think a good DI is important.
     
  10. Tommy Evans

    Tommy Evans Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, Colorado
    To answer the OP, yes getting a DI box will greatly benefit your DI sound. Here's a test clip a made a little while back. First sound is a chord progression with some old strings, then you'll hear the same progression with brand new strings, then finally you'll hear the same progression with new strings into a countryman type 85 DI box. It's pretty self explanatory why a DI box is very important. All examples are going into a Scarlett 18i6

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/w9njx8ddvc3xhdo/Old strings, new strings, DI Box.wav
     
  11. LBTM

    LBTM Proud Behringer User

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks Tommy. Great comparison. Now let's put some distortion in there.

    1) New strings - No DI
    2) New strings - DI

    http://cl.ly/OgUg/di%20box%20difference%20test.wav

    If you want to record clean or with low distortion it might have a difference (that you can still EQ) but if you're going for heavy metal tones it doesn't worth it IMO.
     
  12. blue_fAng

    blue_fAng Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I don't think there's going to be a big difference when playing simple chords with a di box vs straight into the interface. You will notice the difference when playing many large chords and chugging. I prefer my distorted tones going through my countryman 85 against just straight into my saffire pro 40. Still not a big difference but sounds a little more pleasant with the di box, specially the low end quality.
     
  13. Executorg

    Executorg Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    What cable do you guys use to patch di-box and line-in?
     
  14. LBTM

    LBTM Proud Behringer User

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    standard xlr cable.
     
  15. Executorg

    Executorg Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I mean there is any difference to sound in the quality of these cables?
     
  16. LBTM

    LBTM Proud Behringer User

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Not a real one. Every cable has really subtle difference compared to another one.
     
  17. Executorg

    Executorg Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I wanna decent low-end for DI, right now i have klotz one, but it work not really well (even cheap noname cable produce low-end better).
    Any suggestion?
     
  18. LBTM

    LBTM Proud Behringer User

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Why don't you take more time to improve the grammar on your posts?
    We have to guess to understand what you're trying to say.

    The cable isn't your problem if you don't like the tone you're getting most probably.
     
  19. Scottxx

    Scottxx Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    This one is great and not as expensive. I own it... Palmer PAN01PRO (Made in Germany)
     
  20. bryan_kilco

    bryan_kilco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Poconos, PA
    This is what I was thinking. It's very noticeable on the cleans there but the distorted version not so much. Maybe I'll hold off for now and focus on other stuff.
     

Share This Page