This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

WoY's tuning?

Discussion in 'Woods of Ypres' started by Lunaria, Jun 16, 2007.

  1. Lunaria

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    San Francisco. Ca
    Ive been trying to transcribe some Woods songs and i've been wondering what kind of tuning is used.

    If anyone could answer this, i'd appreciate it, thanks.
     
  2. Vex Loser

    Vex Loser Negative Vibe Merchant

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Somewhere in Texas
    If I remember correctly, it's C#, which is 1 1/2 steps down from standard E tuning with the occasional dip down to "dropped B". I only remember this because it's the exact same tuning I use.
     
  3. chrisdoig24k

    chrisdoig24k Boom King

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hellbourne, Australia
    I'm 100% addicted to Drop A to be honest. Not cause it's mega low, but cause I play a lot in D Minor and having the A and the Bb there... so useful!
     
  4. Skepticism

    Skepticism Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,177
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I don't know why, but I've never really used dwon tuning before, I've always used standard. Though I maye try it soon when I get my new equipment.
     
  5. Aeonblade

    Aeonblade Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    As far as I know, I can't mess around with tuning because of the floating tremolo on my guitar. I don't know how to mess around with intonation and that crap so I'm stuck with standard.
     
  6. AtrumArx

    AtrumArx New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    I've got a guitar with a Floyd Rose and I can adjust the tuning slightly, like from E standard to Eb standard. If you just Loosen the springs in the back a little bit you might be able to get it down to D standard. I don't want to mess with intonation, either, that's why I don't go below D.
     
  7. chrisdoig24k

    chrisdoig24k Boom King

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hellbourne, Australia
    Yeah the floating trems do a good job of making everything difficult! I leave my floating trem guitar in standard, I never change it. My other two electrics are in Drop A so I can give one of them to another guitarist when my band gets off the ground. He's in Europe at the moment. Grr...
     
  8. HumanHarvest

    HumanHarvest I am alone here no more

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ontario
    its good that they make things difficult. Having to keep the guitar in one steady tuning is good. Changing the guitars tuning constantly is bad for the guitar. (I believe its the neck joint, or the neck itself, but don't quote me on it).

    I love my Floyd, I've had it in C Standard tuning since January and I've only had to loosen the nut to do major tuning once, and that was because of an idiotic friend what played with the tuning keys while it was locked.
     
  9. chrisdoig24k

    chrisdoig24k Boom King

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hellbourne, Australia
    Whoa that's impressive! I had some nasty bridge fucking the other day, had to open the whole thing up and re-tighten the springs. Something to do with the cold weather, it fucked up the entire tuning. I'd had that particular guitar in its case for a few weeks without playing (was playing others!)

    btw I never change my Drop A guitars, except for the occasional bottom string coming up to Standard B.

    What model is your guitar with the Floyd? I have an Ibanez RG Prestige with an Edge Pro 1 I think.
     
  10. Aeonblade

    Aeonblade Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have an Ibanez RG320FM with Edge Pro 2, tuning is a huge pain in the ass, but I never tune it anyway, it might happen once every few months.
     
  11. HumanHarvest

    HumanHarvest I am alone here no more

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ontario
    Its on an LTD KH-202. its a Licensed one too, and it still works perfectly.
     
  12. chrisdoig24k

    chrisdoig24k Boom King

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hellbourne, Australia
    Sweeet :)
    Are edge pro IIs particularly better than Is?
    I can't find my whammy bar :(

    Crikey! I just sprayed some deodorant in a can, and then lit it through a hole in the bottom and the flame went up about a meter. How scary!
     
  13. matt schrauben

    matt schrauben Curse You All Men!

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,536
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Westphalia, MI
    I use standard because is like it. The lowest i usually go is drop D. But every now and then i tune down to B standard or Drop A just for the hell of it.
     
  14. chrisdoig24k

    chrisdoig24k Boom King

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hellbourne, Australia
    Whoa how does that go down with your neck?
     
  15. matt schrauben

    matt schrauben Curse You All Men!

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,536
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Westphalia, MI
    A floating tremolo is easily fixed if you just stick a wine cork in the gap between the tremolo and the body on the inside. That is if you don't use your whammy bar.
     
  16. matt schrauben

    matt schrauben Curse You All Men!

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,536
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Westphalia, MI
    I've never had problems with guitar necks warping or anything. And i've used all different tunings.
     

Share This Page