This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

I Want You!

Join Symphony X and discover tons of other great Metal forums, sign up today!

Your DAW Is...

Discussion in 'Musicians Corner' started by Kenneth R., May 9, 2010.

?

Your primary DAW is

  1. Cubase/Nuendo

    6 vote(s)
    18.8%
  2. Fruityloops

    2 vote(s)
    6.3%
  3. I do not know what this DAW thing is, but I'll vote anyway

    5 vote(s)
    15.6%
  4. Logic

    1 vote(s)
    3.1%
  5. ProTools

    4 vote(s)
    12.5%
  6. Reaper

    9 vote(s)
    28.1%
  7. Saw

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  8. Sonar

    2 vote(s)
    6.3%
  9. StudioOne

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  10. Other (Reply)

    3 vote(s)
    9.4%
  1. Kenneth R.

    Kenneth R. Cináed

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    17,892
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hallways of Always
    Fairly simple.

    Me: used to be Cubase, now Reaper.
     
  2. Marwen

    Marwen Five Align

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Atlantis
    I use Cubase.

    Are there any advantages to switching to Reaper?
     
  3. Kenneth R.

    Kenneth R. Cináed

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    17,892
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hallways of Always
    I would say definitely yes. Most notably the manner in which features are requested and implemented before you can say "Update!". Looks nicer too, imo. Fully customizeable UI.

    I started this thread because I'm curious what all of you use. There seem to be a lot of self-recordists here so I wanted to gauge the percentage of PT users vs... well everybody else. : )
     
  4. Marwen

    Marwen Five Align

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Atlantis
    I have downloaded and tested Reaper and I have to say I'm liking it. I do remember briefly trying it about 3 years ago and I can see it has evolved, better than I thought.

    I'll probably end up switching to it as well. Thanks. :)
     
  5. rockmanxpr

    rockmanxpr High Speed Samurai

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Pro Tools and now dabbling in Reaper
     
  6. Taliwakker

    Taliwakker .....

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,545
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Protools as of last friday
     
  7. Kenneth R.

    Kenneth R. Cináed

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    17,892
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hallways of Always
    What'd you switch from Tali?
     
  8. Taliwakker

    Taliwakker .....

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,545
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Didn't switch....first dabbling into recording since a stereo cassette deck next to my amp. Our band recorded our ep on PT a few years back so i picked up (and forgot) the basics. Still gotta buy some monitors, bass, bass sansamp, mics...but i managed to get some sounds out of it with the old Pod and some drum tracks Henning Pauly sent me. Bloody hard trying to write music to a pre existing drum track....but quite fun too.
     
  9. CantoX

    CantoX Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kuwait
    I enjoy fruitloops because of the simplicity.
     
  10. Kenneth R.

    Kenneth R. Cináed

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    17,892
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hallways of Always
    haha good shit. :headbang:
     
  11. shreddy

    shreddy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    This is how we recorded our new CD.

    Drums and Bass - Protools
    Guitar - Logic
    Vocals - Reaper
    Keys - Sonar
    Mixed and Mastered - Protools

    Drums and bass were the only thing recorded in a studio, everyone else recorded at their own home.
     
  12. Kenneth R.

    Kenneth R. Cináed

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    17,892
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hallways of Always
    that's really interesting. you exported stems to mix in PT?
     
  13. shreddy

    shreddy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    Exported all as WAV 48K 24Bit each song had a specific length of dead time for a count in click.

    Drums and Bass were recorded first in PT, guitarist was there any played along with them in the studio as scratch tracks, I also played with where scratch keys were needed. Afterwards our Guitarist took the PT sessions exported them as wav and recorded his tracks in his software then sent the rest of us a rough mix. The singer and I both recorded our tracks based on those tracks. For me I just imported in the stereo wav file and just recorded straight in there without a click track, it was kind of a pain without the click but it was do-able. We sent each other tracks of our progress and in some cases we changed up what we were doing as we went along. When we were all done we exported our tracks as WAV and the engineer had a "fun time" importing in all those wavs from CDs, DVDs, and thumbdrives into PT.

    For the next CD we have already talked about using a midi file for click track and using that the for the basis of the song then insert the scratch wav files on top of that. We have also talked about doing all the wav imports in PT on our side to help reduce studio time $$ with the engineer.
     
  14. Kenneth R.

    Kenneth R. Cináed

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    17,892
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hallways of Always
    You know that most DAWS have an Export as Stem which automatically adds the right amount of blank space at the beginning. It makes all the files the same length.
     
  15. shreddy

    shreddy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    I'm only familiar with Sonar but I will keep an eye out for that setting. Thanks for the tip. The other guys might have been doing that with their apps.
     
  16. theoden236

    theoden236 Soul Wandering

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,409
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somwhere in the middle of nowhere
    I primarily use Ableton Live 8.
     
  17. guitarguru777

    guitarguru777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    8,534
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Sonar X1 - LOVE the workflow in this!!
     
  18. guitarguru777

    guitarguru777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    8,534
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    In Sonar you press CTRL+A then when exporting then select Source Category as Tracks and it will export each track individually at the same length so when you import they all line up.

    Getting tracks out of protools is a PAIN in the butt cause it doesnt support offline export and you have to play the song in order to export the file. This video has a work around:

     
    #18 guitarguru777, Jul 6, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2015
  19. Sep3

    Sep3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Finland
    I use Reaper. Good UI and frequent updates is what I like about it. FL Studio has some stuff that I like too, but everything seems so effortless in Reaper. It has its downsides, but it gets better in every update!
     
  20. Marwen

    Marwen Five Align

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Atlantis
    Ok so having used Reaper for months now (also used Sonar and FL in the past), I'm going back to Cubase. Reaper is awesome actually but to me doesn't beat Cubase. The switch back made me realize how comfortable I am using Cubase; it really is my DAW of choice.

    As for Protools, I've always disliked that one.
     

Share This Page