Playing Live - Click and Backing tracks

MKS

May 24, 2005
Please help me out. For the past 12 years I've avoided playing out live. I'm a drummer and I'm now in two live projects that I expect to be playing out with by this fall. We have backup FX and percussion that will be pre-recorded. I want to be able to play along to a click live and also feed these backup tracks (minus click) to the PA.

Some things to think about:

I would like the backup tracks to be in stereo.

I would like the option to have a click track and pre-recorded guitar, bass and vox pump through my headset.

I would prefer to be able to control the mix of all the instruments and click in my headset. Basically, I won't be a slave the house monitors. As long as the other players can hear me and I keep time throughout the performance, everything should be fine.

I would like a reliable but cost effective solution. I know I could use a computer and decent audio interface but I would prefer and all-in-one interface.

I would also like the option during practice to play one of the pre-recorded bass, guitar or vox tracks through the PA if one of the players are not there.

Your suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated.

Honestly, the best way to do this, IMO, would be to get something like a 12" iBook or Powerbook with decent specs, and a MOTU Ultralite or something similar, so you can send the different mixes to different places.

I want to be able to play along to a click live and also feed these backup tracks (minus click) to the PA.
The popular way here is Minidisk - for once it serves something useful :p. Separate the stereo out so that one channel (the click) goes to your ear monitors, and the other channel (pre-recorded material) to the board.

It works well and is pretty reliable. No stereo though (I don't think you'll get that anywhere except the biggest venues).