Alternate Picking help needed

bball_1523

Nov 23, 2003
Southern California
Visit site
*NOTE: I ask that you people please read everything I have written here, thanks.*

I have a variety of alternate picking problems that I have been having for the past 3.5 years that I've been playing guitar. For example, I have a hard time playing smoothly and cleanly while doing simple chromatic exercises at 65 bpm. I will be using 65 bpm chromatics exercise as the main practice routine for the problems that I will describe. First I will describe my problems that I am having, then I will post recent clips of me playing chromatics, and then I am wondering if you guys could offer me detailed and constructive advice.

Before I start describing everything I want to state that I have been playing for 3.5 years, mostly on electric guitar, but recently on both acoustic and electric guitars. I have been practicing chromatics at around 65 bpm for around 2 years and have honestly seen little improvement. I may not have been practicing consistently for my 3.5 years of playing guitar, but I have had my moments of seriously practicing and moments of messing around. I have some anxiety problems so I have a hard time concentrating and relaxing. I am willing to try new things to improve my guitar playing and will not give up until I improve.

What I honestly want to get out of all the advice I receive is being able to apply the right methods that will work well for me and be able to play SMOOTHLY and CLEANLY. You will notice that I bolded and underlined all the smooth and clean words to emphasize how important these two words mean to me in my guitar playing life.

GEAR: Kona K2 Thinbody acoustic/electric guitar, Ibanez GAX70 electric guitar, fender frontman 15 watt practice amp, and a cheap computer to record with.

A) Alternate Picking problems in detail (while playing Chromatics at 65 bpm 16th/8th notes):

Acoustic Guitar Problems: