Bass Restoration Thread

Danimal

Inner Beast
Apr 29, 2005
Chicago
www.edensfall.com
Well, winter is here and unfortunately, in Chicago, that usually means spending a lot more time indoors. So, to keep myself busy (as if I didn’t have enough to do), I decided to restore and refinish one of my basses.

I HAVE NEVER DONE ANYTHING LIKE THIS BEFORE!!! So, if anyone has any experiences or suggestions that they would like to share, I’d love to hear them.

First of all, let me fill you in on the history of this particular bass:

During the recording of our “Harmony of Lies” CD, I spent a lot of time experimenting with my sound to get a tone that I would be happy with. I am really into modern production of Metal recordings, but feel that a lot of the time the bass guitar gets lost in the mix. One of the recording engineers (who is also a good friend of mine) named Marc Holland brought his 5 string Status bass to the studio for me to try plugging into my rig. If you are not familiar with Status, they are made in England and are indeed a very fine instrument. You can check them out on the web at www.status-graphite.com

Hearing the tone on this bass completely blew me away. I was especially impressed with the “note” that could be heard by the low strings compared to how it is usually more of a vibration and “feel”. I used this bass exclusively for the recordings and was very sad when I eventually had to give it back.

Since then, I have been keeping my eye on eBay and the local music shops hoping to pick one up for myself. Sooner that I expected, I found one on eBay that appeared to be identical to Marc’s bass. I jumped in on the bidding (which ran up to about $1,000 USD including shipping) and won! However, as I’m sure a lot of people have learned, things that look great on a 400 pixel wide photo on eBay are not always what they are cracked up to be…