Did I choose the wrong instrument?

fireclown

New Metal Member
Mar 30, 2005
There seems to be a shortage of drummers, bassists and vocalists in the uk.

It seems everyone and his dog plays guitar. I've been playing for 20 yrs and got where I wanted to be but am frustrated by the lack of other musicians.

I'm seriously considering taking up drums in a joey jordison (slipknot) style.

Just out of interest, how many guitarists here actually play in a complete band?

Are there any medium/good drummers here who struggle to find other musicians or are they in heavy demand?

I wouln't advise taking up guitar if I had my time again...unless you like playing along to records in your bedroom.

I'm in a complete band, but the drummer was hardest to find, especially a drummer who wanted to play metal. our drummer actually is a punk, but he's pretty good and likes metal, too, so thats no prob at all

I think I'll have a hard time finding a drummer for my project, though...

This is a very interesting question, to which I myself have given a bit of thought.

It is always tempting to 'adjust' to what seems to be 'the market' out there for musicians. For the most part this works, especially if one considers musician to be a 'profession'. I never considered that to be the case, and here's my train of thought...

Possession of musical talent usually empowers one to excel at more than one instrument. Fortunately, it does take time to learn an instrument. If you want to reach a certain level in your performance technique, you could invest an entire lifetime into it. And thats not even counting music theory and composition here. You could equally devote a lifetime to composing music without ever worrying about excelling at performing it.

You can't be as good at doing one thing as someone else with potential equal to yours can be, if you've spent your potential little by little in many different places, while someone else had invested it into one thing.