G Clip / Limiting help...

JayB

Oct 10, 2009
open.spotify.com
Hey guys , finally getting to the end of the mixing stage for my first production. I am getting a lot of clipping indicators in Pro Tools , and I am pretty new to the whole clipping /G clip thing. I can't seem to find a good in depth tutorial for this anywhere so I figured I would throw a few questions toward you guys:

1) I use Pro Tools mainly . I also have Ableton Live Lite , which I use if I have to use a VST plug in , which I rarely do. I've seen in most instances G clip is used twice along with a limiter on tracks , but Ableton Lite only lets you use two plug ins. So my first question is , can I use g clip and a limiter , then export , import that file and use g clip once more? Or does it all need to be done at once?

2) Should G Clip be used on all tracks that are clipping? I have multiple guitar tracks that are clipping in certain spots. Is it customarily done on all tracks before final mixdown / master, in which case it is then also used on the final master?

Thanks in advance for your help guys. Everything else so far along the project as gone pretty smoothly, but for some reason this whole clipping business is total Greek to me. Goes right over my head.

Gclip is a clipper, it is useful if you want to clip things for effect or for transparent transient killing.

From what i can understand what you need is to turn your faders down until things STOP clipping

edit: clipping is when a signal is too loud for whatever it's passing through and the waveform gets the top and bottom just chopped off. I don't think pro tools will really clip on the tracks, irrelevant of red lights, but it may do on the busses and certainly will on the master bus

When would you purposely clip a track? I know Joey said he uses Gclip to get his snare sound... Like, is it to add body without sticking out?