A little story I feel like telling...

Shpongled

Aug 30, 2001
As I sit here and listen to Ocean Machine, I have suddenly gotten the urge to tell a story of a past experience. I don't know why, but I feel like I'm in the mood to try my hand at being a story teller, something I've never done before. So please forgive me if it completely sucks (or gets rather long). I apologize in advance.

About 2 years ago, something happened to me so overwhelming I could hardly embrace it. I couldn't believe it was happening, for I had only experienced such an event as a young, adolescent teenager, who's mind was constantly being exposed to new things. There was nothing that didn't fascinate me back then, so this feeling of complete disbelief came as quite a shock to me, considering it'd been quite a while since it happened.

It was a Friday, not sure of the day or even month, but I do remember it wasn't a good day. I'd had a bad day at work, and all I wanted to do was relax at home and not talk to anyone. Maybe play some Counter-Strike and drink some beers. Maybe barbecue a steak. That sort of thing is therapeutic to me. But I digress. I had to complete a chore for my girlfriend at the time. I was to deliver a cd of some important files for a cd layout or something similar to a person who was booking metal shows in Seattle. Since there was a strict deadline (ie. THAT day) I had to go to a show she was presenting to deliver the goods. No big deal, I thought. I'll go park outside of the venue, run in really quick and hand her the cd and then go home to resume my laziness. If only it were that simple. In reality, if it really did happen that way, I wouldn't be telling you this story, and believe me.. it's got a very happy ending.