Anybody have any advice on working with women?

Michael TEOF

Master Whorebot
Mar 4, 2002
Schaumburg, IL
www.myspace.com
Outside the work place I get along just fine. That's a completely different animal for me.

In the work environment, as a manager, I'm trying to strike that balance between keeping a friendly, encouraging and supportive rapport yet professional and impersonal. Some of the women want to bond emotionally with me, but as a man in the modern work place, you learn to be reserved. The work is sales and the business is very personal and emotionally intense. An emotional and mental balance is critical to a successful team, in this case at least.

Harassment policies at all corporations clearly state that harassment is anything the woman thinks is harassment and grounds for dismissal. I'm trying to make the women that work for me (as well as the woman I work for) understand I care for them personally and have some emotional investment with them. Women value emotional bonds with their bosses more and I'm trying to create the right kind of connection with them.

This is probably the wrong place to ask. But I know many of you that post here personally (especially all the Chicago peeps), and am curious what you guys think.

I look forward to reading your comments.

The Michael

PS: Anyone that wants to make a men and women are exactly the same thing except for the vaginas/penises part argument and complain about me being sexist, please withhold your comments. :)

PS: Anyone that wants to make a men and women are exactly the same thing except for the vaginas/penises part argument

actually you have it backwards... the men are the ones with the penises. women --> vaginas. :guh: