how to get this incredible guitar tone with amp sim?

Hankyu

Jul 16, 2014
Germany
Hi everyone,

this is my first time I post here but I'm watching this forum for some time. I'm from germany and I'm sorry for my bad english. I've learned very much here about recording and mixing stuff and now I discovered a band with an absolutely amazing guitar tone. I try to copy not the whole guitar tone but I like this robotic sound of it. It reminds me of the movie transformers and so I called it the "transformers sound" :D ...

to let you know how my mixes sound like before I know about this band: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/156776315/introtse.mp3

not tight enough, I know but it was a quick test for an intro of my upcoming ep.

and here the transformers sound:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1TvS8MVjW4s

or is it the bass what make it sounds like this? I'm not sure. good to hear at 0:25

use lower tuning-fresh strings-tight playing & edit - 7 or 8 string guitar maybe.
also tight bass playing & distortion on bass

I know what you mean by Transformer sound. You can get that sound by moving your picking hand closer to the bridge pickup when palm muting. Also pick really hard.

I know what you mean by Transformer sound. You can get that sound by moving your picking hand closer to the bridge pickup when palm muting. Also pick really hard.

I noticed that too. but in the mix it doesn't sound like that anymore. maybe it is what marius.blythe said and I have to tune my guitar lower. I know the band used 6 string guitars with emg81. they recorded a tuned 6505 with a tubescreamer in front of it and an old marshall cab 1x15 ^^

I don't want to tune my guitar that low because my guitar tremolo is set up for drop c tuning right now. but it seems I have to ^^

thx a lot for the answers so far ;)