More Riffs On Punk CDS or Metal CDS?

Listener1254

May 19, 2003
I realized that is harder to play metal than punk once i started playing guitar fully. But my friend told me it's harder to make a punk cd with 15-20 songs on it than it is to make a metal cd with 8-10 songs on it. His reasoning was that on punk cds you have to think of 15-20 different riffs for those songs plus lyrics for all those songs. And since there is more than one riff per song, it would come out to something like an average of 40+ riffs per cd. But with metal he said if its an 8-10 song cd you only have to think of 8-10 different riffs and if theres more than riff per song that would be an average of only about 30+ riffs per song, plus only think of lyrics for 8-10 songs versus 15-20 songs. Lets say theres 3 riffs in a metal song and 8 songs on the cd, thats 24 riffs throughout the cd. if a punk cd has 15 songs on it and theres 3 riffs per song, that equals about 45 riffs per cd. Despite this, many people say that metal is more creative than punk. Another thing is I told him that mostly metal cds with 8-10 songs on it are 40 mins long and punk cds with 15-20 songs on it are also about 40 mins long so it evens out and he said no cause metal they just use the same riffs over and over to make the song longer. This may be true, what do you think? Do you think punk beats out metal for more creative riffs since there are more?

Dying Sun said:
Punk cd's typically run 25-35 minutes, metal cd's 40-60...

Does that mean it's worse than metal? What about the riffs that I explained? What do you think is harder to make?

Immortal Death said:
Please fuck off and die, thank you.

Sorry man but I had to ask this, I will be leaving soon though cause I'm getting a new computer and I can't remember the password for my name since it's saved and I can't remmeber which email address I used to sign up. in about a week or so I won't be posting anymore.

Immortal Death said:
Thank you. :D