"New and Unfamilar Bands" (for 5150)

I guess I got under your skin. :devil:

Sorry that wasn't my intention. I was just answering your question about the lineup in general after getting past the "WTF" (as you put it).

Actually I never used the term "new" bands. Instead I mentioned "unknown" , "obscure", "lack of buzz" as indicated by the lack of discussion on this board, the PM:X and the audience at PPXI. But obviously I have been hiding under a rock since the 2011 lineup bands have been around for many years. And as for bands with one or no albums, not a problem. I can remember you actively promoting Raintime and Circus Maximus before you announced their appearance at PP. One out of two ain't bad. ;)

I am just saying you need to clue more us in about your favorites before announcing them at PP. Then maybe we won't be shocked by the line up.

I suspect as a concert promoter you have many inside leads (and free CDs) to share with the PP community. At least your opinions of them.

And by the way, I didn't say I wasn't going to PPXII. I've already been told by a good friend that regardless of the bands, I will be attending.

But thanks for taking the time to discuss and I hope I didn't ruin your time off. :wave:

For my part, I tend to think that if it's a long-established band and I don't even know them, odds are I *have* heard them and just wasn't interested. I think the only time I recanted was for Threshold - people talked about them so much in the ytsejam days when Psychedelicatessen was out, and I hated it - the singing drove me right off. Never listened to them again until almost fifteen years later; I gave them a chance again, and turns out that I loved them .... except for Psychedelicatessen (and Wounded Land), which I STILL hate. :lol:

I freely admit to snobbery, though, and it's no reflection on Glenn as a promoter, because I know full well my tastes ain't in line with the majority.