Recording, mixing tutorial blog.

MarcMullingar92

New Metal Member
Jan 16, 2011
Sorry in advance if this is against the rules, but there will be alot of tutorial content on this page over time.
Hey guys, for a college assignment I have to write a blog, and thought I'd write a guide to getting started on recording at home.
I'm far from an expert, but an avid hobbyist and think this blog could help out anyone looking to get started.
I'd apreciate some views, follows etc, at the moment I only have one article up, but am looking to post 2-3 a week.
If you notice me leaving anything big out or any stupid errors etc I'd appreciate being told to.
Thanks in advance guys. :)
http://marcmurray.bcfedigitalmedia.com/

I would like to see article dedicated to compression (not what attack, release, NY comp n'stuff does, but more how to work with it). I understand how compressor work but I feel like because of that I can't get full use of it. I hope you can guess what I'm thinking, because it's hard to explain.

I would like to see article dedicated to compression (not what attack, release, NY comp n'stuff does, but more how to work with it). I understand how compressor work but I feel like because of that I can't get full use of it. I hope you can guess what I'm thinking, because it's hard to explain.

No problem! I'll be doing an EQ article tomorow, I'll probably do the basics of compression before the weekend is through though :)

You reminded me that I need to buy studio monitors hahah. I know it's somewhat genre-specific, but I'm trying to record a post-metal (in the vein of Isis, Neurosis, Cult of Luna, Pelican, etc.) song right now and have found it extraordinarily difficult to combine a thick, sludgy wall-of-sound distorted guitar with additional lighter, airier leads and background textures. If you could post something related to mixing really dense music like that it would be awesome.

In your introduction article the part about interfaces is completely wrong.