Resisting plugins on the master bug when mixing...

stevehollx

New Metal Member
Nov 7, 2008
I've never tried this before, but I threw mastering plugins (no EQ here, but a compressor, clipper, & limiter) on the master bus in the middle of mixing some new stuff. Mostly I did it so I can A/B my stuff with CDs better and get an idea of how things would roughly sound as a final result rather.

But after hearing the mix through the master plugins, I find myself mixing more with the master bus plugins enabled than in bypass mode. The mastering changes the soundscape so much I'm afraid to mix with them off. Guitars are beefier and need re-EQing, bass is boomier, snare sits different in the mix...

I'm thinking this may be a bad practice--there are probably two schools of though here:

-Tailor your mix with the mastering plugins on because it will give you a better idea of what the mix is going to sound like after it is mastered, and will help you correct things during mixdown that mastering would have exposed.

-Don't rely on the mastering plugins during mixdown, since building a mix around them will cause for a bad mix that falls apart when you disable them.

Ultimately this project is being sent to a mastering house, so I will be sending the tracks to them with nothing on the mastering bus, but I'm not sure whether I should stop mixing/referencing with the master bus plugins enabled or not. I don't want to send a mix that sounded good through my master bus plugins, but not through theirs. But I don't want mastering to expose anything that I could have caught with mastering plugins.

Anyone have any thoughts?