Vocal scale help...

JayB

Oct 10, 2009
open.spotify.com
Since my band can't seem to find a decent singer I am going to give vocals a shot for our album , at least vocal demos for someone else to go over down the road. But if it sounds good I will just keep mine in there. Anyway here's the deal: I'm a pretty decent singer , clean and screaming vox. But I am mainly a guitarist. I know almost all the guitar scales and I have a firm grasp of harmony. However when messing around with some vocals and tuning them manually in Auto-Tune to make sure I was on pitch, I realized that vocal scales are almost all different than guitar scales. The only scale I recognized was Major. So as a guitarist , can someone explain how I should make sure what I am singing matches with the key and scale of the music? For instance if a section is in C Pentatonic Blues Scale , how do I know what vocal scale to sing over with? Any help would be really appreciated with this , as the internet is not helping me right now.

I really don't understand your question ... where is the problem in using your ear and listening if it sounds good? And use graphical mode in Auto-Tune - or use Melodyne.

In 20 years of writing vocal melodies, I have never once thought about the scale I wrote the melody in. Just sing what sounds good to you.

I really don't understand your question ... where is the problem in using your ear and listening if it sounds good? And use graphical mode in Auto-Tune - or use Melodyne.

In 20 years of writing vocal melodies, I have never once thought about the scale I wrote the melody in. Just sing what sounds good to you.

THIS.

There's nothing different about guitar scales and vocal scales at all.
If you can play that C blues scale over the song successfully that would mean that the song is in the key of Eb major. Meaning the notes are Eb, F, G, Ab, Bb, C, and D. That A that's in the C blues scale is just a accidental, it's just there for flavor.