Being a musician and producer, is it a help or hindrance listening to music?

Oct 16, 2010
Uk
I'm not sure if ignorance is bliss or not.

From a musician's point of view, I'm definitely quite snobby about what I like to hear guitar solo wise. Back in the day, like a civilian, I'm sure we all thought that Clapton or Santana solo based on one single pentatonic shape was amazing. I'm not necessarily knocking that, each to their own, but as a musician I don't find it very inspiring.

Also, I'm always listening out for the chord progression, think of other songs they sound like, taking riff ideas to possibly "borrow" and things like that.

Now on top of that, I'm also thinking how well the bass sits in the mix, guitar tones etc...

On an additional note... One thing that really gets me are drums panned from an audience perspective. It just really sounds wrong to me.

Basically everything except just "listening" for the sake of listening. I fear I'm too overly critical of the mixes and the construction and am missing the point and perhaps the passion and open mind I once had for music.

How about you?

I'm not sure if ignorance is bliss or not.

From a musician's point of view, I'm definitely quite snobby about what I like to hear guitar solo wise. Back in the day, like a civilian, I'm sure we all thought that Clapton or Santana solo based on one single pentatonic shape was amazing. I'm not necessarily knocking that, each to their own, but as a musician I don't find it very inspiring.

Also, I'm always listening out for the chord progression, think of other songs they sound like, taking riff ideas to possibly "borrow" and things like that.

Now on top of that, I'm also thinking how well the bass sits in the mix, guitar tones etc...

On an additional note... One thing that really gets me are drums panned from an audience perspective. It just really sounds wrong to me.