Palm muting problem, insight? Help?

J.DavisNJ

\m/
Nov 8, 2005
NJ, U.S.A.
Hi all,

I put this thread in here, because it is more about technique than equipment really.

Over the past couple of years, my playing has been quite on and off. I'll have periods where I play every day, to periods where I'm taking breaks for a couple weeks at a time. It isn't because I don't love the axe, it's just my mood, busy schedule, etc.

I have been playing for over 10 years, but have never been on a strict practice schedule. There are players out there that have been playing for less time than myself, that I'm sure are better lol. When I don't play for periods of time, I am rusty and can develop some bad habits.

I have been noticing something about my palm muting technique on the low, open E lately. This is especially apparent when using a tubescreamer, so hopefully someone can identify with what I mean.

When muting the open E (usually non-fretted), my palm mutes sound "flubby" or "washy" as lot of the time. Meaning, it sounds as if I'm muting with more of the "side" of the pick and not keeping it as "flat" as I'd like. I've been trying to assess the situation and think I'm getting closer to an answer.

#1: I think sometimes, I subconciously don't have my hand far back enough (towards the bridge), and it gives the palm mutes this "flubby" or "plinky" sound I'm talking about.

#2: Maybe I have the pick at a slight angle when doing faster open muted licks.

Does anyone know what I'm talking about here? I'm trying to ween myself off of having my hand too far forward to see if it helps.

Also, when you fellas are muting single low wound strings (especially a non-fretted lower E), do you ever have your pick at a slight angle? Meaning, is the joint in your thumb slightly bent so the pick is bent?