Austria

metu

Nov 21, 2002
MI, USA
Visit site
OK.... This is hands down the most overdue thread ever. Austria has such a great black metal scene. I haven't heard much of their other kinds of metal, but at black, black ruling all, they're in a league with only one other country as far as I'm concerned.

I've been listening to european metal for a little over two years now. Norway brought me in and Austria made me stay. :]

Let's discuss, drop links and all that shit. :]

here's an obvious one incase you don't know.

http://www.blackmetal.at/

there's a good deathmetal scene as well :kickass:

i think especially live, 90% of all bands are just awesome (better than on CD or mp3), and i'm not saying this only cos I'm austrian :)

here you can find a big list of austrian bands of all musical styles (click on "underground" . there are also some foreign bands listed: D = germany, and CH = switzerland, F = france, SWE = sweden, the rest should be all austrian )

some links:
Midgard www.midgardmusic.at (unfortunately they don't have any samples online :( )
Amortis http://go.to/amortis
Thirdmoon www.thirdmoon.at ("Bloodforsaken" is brilliant, there's not a single bad song on it, imo)
Darkfall - www.darkfall.tk
Seeds of Sorrow www.seedsofsorrow.com
Hollenthon - www.hollenthon.com
Pungent Stench - www.pungent-stench.com

Right on.

I have no doubt that there's a kick ass death metal scene up in there. Much of this black metal is so raw that it would be rediculous if there weren't.

:cool:

Any doom and/or folk stuff?

folk and folkish sound have:
Tanqeray www.tanqeray.com (not to mix with www.tanqueray.com :lol: though vodka I wouldn't deny :dopey: )
Tanqeray could belong to the Skyclad-camp, soundwise :headbang:

and Nerthus (review ). there's some parts that are totally brilliant and others where the drum computer is just annoying as hell. they have some instrumentals too, and those are just adorable, imho :headbang:
other than these, i don't know of other folkish stuff.