The Guitar Player's Thread

manini

QV Myspace Whore
Apr 21, 2005
Los Angeles
www.myspace.com
I figured every forum has one of these, so why not create one for the QV forum :) Basically, this is a thread where guitar players can ask questions about anything guitar related and also leave comments and what not. Bassists, drummers, and keyboardists, feel free to respond in here as well.

I'll start this thread off. First let me give you a little information about myself. I've been playing guitar for exactly two years, completely self taught. My guitar is a left handed ESP LTD Viper 50 with upgraded pickups to the EMG 81/85 set. My amp is a Line 6 Spider II 15 watt combo. (I think it may be time for an upgrade :p) I also have a Line 6 GuitarPort that I use for recording.

Anyway, I have a few questions regarding playing. Now I do my best to practice as often as I can, and I feel like I've been making some progress, but I'm not really at the level that I was hoping to be at after two years, like I still can't solo at all, even if my life depended on it. I think it may be because I haven't bothered to learn my scales :rolleyes: But do you guys have any suggestions, on what to include in my practice routines, or maybe some books / dvd's that are really helpful. This whole time I've just been jamming/screwing around/ using Guitar Pro to learn how to play my fav songs, but I guess it's time to step it up a notch.

Also, playing by ear... is there any special techniques to getting better at that, or is something that you just pickup over time. Theres a few riffs I've been able to figure out by ear, but not much more than that really. Playing by ear would help for all those songs I don't have tabs for.

Here is what I could give as advice.