Epic Doom Metal

Dec 28, 2001
New Plymouth, New Zealand
www.last.fm
I'm relatively new to Traditional Doom Metal and so far I am fucking loving it immensely. I'm interested in finding more more bands along the lines of Candlemass, Solitude Aeturnus, Scald and Reverend Bizarre. I'm already somewhat familiar with the likes of Trouble, Saint Vitus, Pentagram, Solstice, et cetera. Any recommendations are appreciated.

Isole
Ereb Altor
Doomsword
Mirror Of Deception
Revelation
Orodruin
Fall Of The Idols
The Gates Of Slumber
Great Coven
Hour Of 13

My personal favs:

Doomsword
Orodruin
Fall of the Idols
The Gates of Slumber
Seamount
While Heaven Wept (in particular, the first song off Of Empires Forlorn:p)

Also, don't forget Count Raven. Not completely "epic", per se, but still fucing awesome.

Most have already been said; but I'd like to second While Heaven Wept (^). They're very epic, but not in the traditional doom sense, so I don't know what you'd think of them. Of Empires Forlorn is a really good record though.

I'd also throw Pagan Altar out there; a great band.

:kickass: Pretty much the best music style ever!

I second most of the recs here, and can add:

Doomshine
Forsaken
Thunderstorm
The Doomsday Cult
Well of Souls

Not doom, but definitely check out The Pnakotic Demos by Atlantean Kodex. Brilliant epic heavy metal with occasional doomy parts. If you like Solstice, I guarantee you will like them.

It should be mentioned that Atlantean Kodex's best song is really quite easily the fantastically epic namesake song off of "New Age of Iron Vol. 1". A must for all fans!

They're most notorious for having Phil Swanson of Hour of 13 fame on vocals, unfortunately, but it's really a quite brilliant epic doom band with excellent crispy guitars and a fantastic sense of melody. They put up their album for download all legal-like somewhere. Until someone finds it...

http://www.myspace.com/seamountdoom