My weekend with Maiden!

ElectricWiz

Steal Your Face
Feb 18, 2003
Visit site
Okay, here's a bit of an unbelievable story, but every word is true:
(Long, but worth it, I think)

I went to New York this weekend with a dear friend of mine. We were going to Alex Grey's art gallery before it closes. If you don't know him, he is the guy who did the cover art for Lateralus and 10,000 days by Tool, though my friend and I were "fans" of his previous to that. He's really amazing.

When I was making plans to go I did a check on Ticketmaster to see what was in town, and lo and behold, Maiden was at Madison Square Garden. However, it was sold out. Rather than pay the extra scalper fees, we just opted out (especially since I had seen them in San Francisco a couple weeks ago, and my friend had done the same in Phoenix).

We checked into our hotel Friday evening, around 5:30 I'd say. We dropped our bags off, and headed down to the lobby...when who should I see, but "Gadsy," also known as Nicko's drum tech (in the Early years DVD), and more recently known as Maiden's road manager. I almost went to say hi, but it took me a minute to realize just exactly who he was. So, I say to my friend, "Dude, I think Maiden is staying here..."