Sonata Arctica

Apr 3, 2004
Nashville, TN
Hello all,

I am a huge sonata arctica fan and have been sitting with their new one for a bit and am ready to post my thoughts on this one.

UNIA - wow, where to begin? I had heard that this one was in a different direction than their previous work and I have to admit that it is a little bit different from their earlier stuff. I do like the production on this disc, it is nice and loud. If i could change anything, i would like the guitars to be a little less on the bass side if that makes sense. I have no production knowledge at all, i just know what i like to hear. i think the guitars sound a little muddy. the songs on this cd are not as speedy as on their other cd's. that is okay in my book because i typically like the mid paced songs by this band. what i am really missing the most is the melodies. typically for me the melodies on a SA disc are right up front and hit you in the face. on this cd, the melodies are a little harder to find. there are songs on here that the melodies are right there but most songs you have to find the melody. Also, I am a huge fan of Tony' s vocals and i think he is great at making huge choruses. i love the way he uses his voice. on this cd he has more of a harsh tone and i am not quite sure i am digesting it. i am also a fan of jani's guitar solos, the guy is amazing but on this cd, there are not many guitar solos at all. i think this cd is a heavier SA but i don't now if it is a better SA. i do have to give them props for going out on a limb and trying something different to keep their music sounding fresh but i miss the melody and the catchiness of the older SA. is this a bad disc, not at all, just not my cup of tea. i think there will be plenty of people who love this cd, i do like it but it is not one of my favorites. I think this disc is one that you have to sit with for a bit and digest it. This one may move up with more listens but right now, it is not my favorite SA cd. Not bad, just not