The 'STUDIO DO'S AND DON'TS' thread.

pikachu69

mixomatic 2000
Jun 7, 2010
New Zealand
Hello one and all,

I am sorry if there is another thread around like this, I did search but didn't find anything.

After spending some time on this site I have visited the studio pages of all the most influential engineers that post here and noticed many of you have a 'do's and don'ts' list to prepare your clients for the recording process and what they need to bring with them. Great idea.

I know its a bit of a simple idea too, but after dealing with too many drummers that think just because im a guitarist and cant play a blast beat at 1250 bpm, it seems impossible to think i could know anything about drums, and certainly not as much as him because he knows it all already.

So, I want to make my own list to give to clients but I didn't want to rip off your sites word for word, that would not be right.

So, I propose a thread for creating a generic 'Studio Do's and Don'ts' list we could all download and use.

Please add your thoughts and entries for the list and I will compile them all in a master list on this post as time goes by.
One topic not covered on most of your lists is the use of drugs or alcohol in the studio so I would like your thoughts on that topic too.

I think that if I could present a client with a list created by the best in the business then at least I can say "well, I didn't write it" when confronted with the usual complaints. :lol:

Cheers.

-New and spare strings, picks, drum heads, sticks
-Properly set up guitars/basses.
-Practice your parts, preferably with a click.
-Be well-rested and prepared to work, not screw around and get drunk in the studio.
-Warm up
-Be willing to try new/different things
-LISTEN. Listen to your AE/producer and your bandmates. Don't just space out and stare at a wall, try to pay attention to what's going on. Being asked the same question over and over is a sure-fire way to piss off an engineer.