Recording vocals??

CantoX

Mar 10, 2006
Kuwait
www.myspace.com
I'm pretty decent at recording instruments and stuff like that, but how do you record vocals correctly?

What kind of mic? Recommend me some but remember that I'm a college student lol. I do have a mixer that has phantom power btw.
How far/close do you stand to the mic? How much gain should the mic have?
Is a pop filter really needed?
What kind of effects should I use? From what I've been playing around with my voice looks like it has lots of mid-bassy kinda qualities. Does that mean I jack up the treble and lower the bass? How much compression and what type? How much reverb? And in what order? I usually do it like this: hiss reduction>parametric eq>reverb>compression>amplification(if needed). Any other tricks?

Thanks in advance.

Hey there! So you're recording vocals huh? There you go: http://www.tweakheadz.com/how_to_record_vocals.htm
You should find every bit of information you need in that site.

As to your questions:

What kind of mic? Recommend me some but remember that I'm a college student lol.
Sure SM-58: Professional and affordable. More info here.

I reckon not so far that you start loosing some of the voice's main frequencies, or start sounding in a room (which is something you'd like to avoid as much as you can), neither so close that you start "eating the mic".

How much gain should the mic have?
As loud as possible WITHOUT exceeding the peak limit (the zero db)

In a professional studio, it is. But for a small home studio, I'd say it would be a nice bonus.

What kind of effects should I use? From what I've been playing around with my voice looks like it has lots of mid-bassy kinda qualities. Does that mean I jack up the treble and lower the bass? How much compression and what type? How much reverb? And in what order?