I also picked up PC69 - Thunderdome

Stoink

Feb 23, 2005
Kansas
I was kind of skeptical about PC69 playing at progpower this year because I heard they were a gothic/glam metal band. Then I heard the sample on pp main website which kicks ass, so I went out and I got the cd today. Which turned to be a very good cd. I wouldnt classify it as gothic at all I say it is melodic metal with a tinge of glam, but it is a good tinge.(I usually hate any kind of glam). I didnt much care for the ballad at all and their take on My sharona was interesting. Overall the album is solid and I hope to hear alot of songs from this record because it is the only I have.

Peace

Stoink

ps I will also have my opinion about Lemuria/Sirius B tomorrow which is the other cd I picked up today. I know these "reviews" are kind of late but I am fairly new to progpower genre, but let me tell you that I am loving it.

How could anyone describe PC69 as "gothic" in any shape, form, or fashion? Has the term gothic, when applied to music, become so diluted that it is now referring to good-time pop metal bands?

(P.S. This is not a cut on you by any means, Stoink - merely the person who described the album to you in such a way. I just wish people would quit labelling everything as "goth")

I totally understand where you are coming from because there is nothing gothic about this band what so ever. Do you have other PC 69 releases and if so which ones can you recommend or should I say which ones do you think they will be playing off of at progpower.

peace

stoink

I agree on the liberal use of goth to describe anything, even if it's one band member wears black on stage it seems. Same way with psychedelic, way too many bands are labeled that. As for PC 69, the only CD I remember is their S/T one, and it sounded like vintage Dokken to me, but that was back before the current singer, so they may have changed alot since then.

Stoink said: