Advice for a PPUSA first-timer?

OrionSon

Nov 7, 2013
So I pretty much had to buy tickets when I saw that Stratovarius and Overkill, two of my Top 10 bands were playing this festival. I'm new to the festival and am already putting aside money for it as a poor college student.

Since it's so far away and will cost me a lot of my money, I want to do this right. So I was wondering if all of you festival veterans had some advice to make my first time visiting this a great one.

Thanks in advance.

You'll love it! Welcome to the Metal Community you didn't realize existed. You'll find people in Atlanta and at the festival hospitable and helpful. I suggest getting a hotel as soon as you know when you're coming and going. I have picked several within walking distance of the venue and it has worked out. Also could use couchsurf to save some bucks. You don't need a rental car - - either MARTA in or taxi from the airport. Main advice is to drink lots of water and don't feel like you have to watch *everything*. I usually pick a band I'll sit out and use that time to leave the venue for a bite to eat. Truth is you may get some sensory overload after 2 days of metal in a dark room. But it is worth it. You should ask specific questions to get specific answers. Anything in particular on your mind?

Specifically, I was thinking of advice on hotels and dining in walking distance. I plan on driving to Atlanta, which is about 8 hours away from where I live. Because of the time and money I'm investing into this, I'm trying to get the maximum experience, which was why I had planned to see every band. I for sure am going the Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights. Wednesday is still being considered.

Where are you coming in from?