Status
Not open for further replies.

Harvester

The Promoter
Sep 16, 2001
www.progpowerusa.com
"With great power comes great responsibility."
-Uncle Ben

"With great promoting power comes the great responsibility to put up with great bullshit."
-Glenn H.

I've been doing this thing for ten years now and thought I had heard & seen it all. I mean, I started with nothing and built an internationally recognized festival that has thrived for a decade now. Sure, I have made a few mistakes along the way..I'm human. Every year, I get critiqued mercilessly over my selections. However, I must be doing something right as ProgPower USA continues to be a success while other festivals come and go. I have put up with more armchair quarterback critiques for over 10 year than I can remember. They have come and gone and took their megaphone with them.

I'm still here.

I normally sit back and just let the cards fall where they may after an announcement. I'll defend a few things in a politically correct manner from time to time because negative remarks hurt me just like they you..again, I'm human.

Today is not that day. This post goes out to Sarah, Jeff, Bob, etc, who are not just bashing Powerglove, but the festival quality in general with their posts elsewhere after the announcement.

I'm simply disappointed. I have never said a negative word about any of you in public or private. Yet, it's ok to do that to me and my wife because I run the festival? If I haven't earned your respect by now, I don't want it. Any other promoter sees you as nothing but a ticket sale. I don't. I don't want your money. ProgPower USA means more to me than that than putting up with hypocrites.

We work our asses off all year long to make this event happen. We pour our heart and soul into this. People have absolutely no idea the heartache involved in putting this this festival together. However, some people feel entitled to not just voice an opinion, but to voice insults without a care. Ouch.